Skip to main content

Mathematical Biology – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Research

Mathematical Biology

The Mathematical Biology Group at Reading was established in 2010. Our mathematical expertise covers continuum modelling, nonlinear ordinary and partial differential equations, agent based modelling, inverse methods, multiscale modelling and asymptotic methods.

Our research work is focused in the areas of cardiovascular health, bacterial chemotaxis, lipoprotein metabolism, quantitative systems pharmacology, neuroscience and neurodynamics and tumour growth.

We collaborate with leading biological, life and pharmacological science groups in academia and industry as well as mathematical centres and departments around the UK and internationally. We are involved with a number of national and international initiatives (please see below) and our work is funded by the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC), Engineering and Physical Research Council (EPSRC), British Heart Foundation (BHF), Medical Research Council (MRC), Nuffield Foundation, RCUK, the University of Reading and industry.

Our core teaching associated with the area includes a third/fourth year module in Mathematical Biology in Mathematics and Statistics, Systems Biology in the Biological Sciences. We regularly attract funding for summer studentship bursaries, provide training for industry and are happy to hear from people (undergraduate students through to established academics) who are keen to collaborate and/or learn more about Mathematical Biology.


Name Position Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378
Dr Marcus Tindall Director of PG Research Studies, Associate Professor of Mathematical Biology 8989 m.tindall
Professor Michael Baines Emeritus Professor 8993 m.j.baines
Dr Richard Everitt Lecturer 8030 r.g.everitt
Dr Roland Potthast Professor of Applied Mathematics 7614 r.w.e.potthast
Dr Peter K Sweby Associate Professor 8675 p.k.sweby
Dr Joanne Dunster Postdoctoral Research Assistant, Visiting Research Fellow j.l.dunster

PhD Students

  • Mr Osamah Alayafi
  • Mr Daniel Derrick
  • Ms Eleanor Healing
  • Ms Emily Roashan  


  • Dr T. Snowden (QSP Certara)

Previous group members

  • Staff - Prof. P. Grindrod
  • PhD students - Drs J. Dodd (2013-2017), E. Dede (2013-2017), A. Stainer (2013-2017), E. Maldonado (2012-2016) T. Snowden (2011-2015), M. Edgington (2011-2015), F. Pool (2011-2015), B. Bhattacharya  (2008-2010)
  • UG students - T. Rawson, A. Baldwin, J. Bowyer

Our Publications




Industrial Collaborators

We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top