Staff list

 

Staff responsibilities

 

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email
@reading.ac.uk

Dr Karen L Ayres Associate Professor 8023 k.l.ayres
Professor Michael J Baines Professor of Applied Mathematics 8993 m.j.baines
Dr M Fazil Baksh Lecturer 8034 m.f.baksh
Dr Nick R T Biggs Associate Professor 8998 n.r.t.biggs
Dr Jochen Broecker Lecturer  8578  j.broecker 
Professor Les J Bunce Professor of Pure Mathematics 5019 l.j.bunce
Dr Peter G Chamberlain Associate Professor 5005 p.g.chamberlain
Professor Simon N Chandler-Wilde Professor of Applied Mathematics 6017 s.n.chandler-wilde
Dr Alexey Chernov Associate Professor 7931  a.chernov
Dr Sarah L Dance Associate Professor of Data Assimilation 6452 s.l.dance
Dr Richard Everitt Lecturer  8030  r.g.everitt 
Ms Hannah Fairbanks Teaching Fellow 4720  h.e.fairbanks 
Professor Paul Glaister Head of Department
(Academic Staff and Teaching)
Professor of Mathematics and Mathematics Education
6673 p.glaister
Dr Danica Vukadinovic Greetham Lecturer 8032 d.v.greetham
Dr Titus W Hilberdink Lecturer 5020 t.w.hilberdink
Dr Patrick Ilg Associate Professor 8544  p.ilg 
Dr Nikos Katzourakis Lecturer  7463  n.katzourakis 
Dr Tobias Kuna Lecturer 6028 t.kuna
Dr Stephen Langdon Head of Department
(Academic Staff and Research)
Associate Professor
5021 s.langdon
Dr Amos S Lawless Lecturer 5018 a.s.lawless
Professor Michael Levitin Professor of Applied Mathematics 8997 m.levitin
Professor Alexei Likhtman Professor of Mathematical Physics 8995 a.likhtman
Professor Valerio Lucarini  Professor of Statistical Mechanics 5573 v.lucarini
Professor Averil M Macdonald Professor of Science Communication 8574 a.m.macdonald
Professor Nancy K Nichols Professor of Applied Mathematics 8988 n.k.nichols
Professor Beatrice Pelloni Professor of Applied Mathematics 8990 b.pelloni
Professor Roland W E Potthast Professor of Applied Mathematics 7614 r.w.e.potthast
Dr Tristan Pryer Lecturer 6539 t.pryer
Professor Sebastian Reich Professor of Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing s.reich
Dr Mladen Savov Lecturer  8914  m.savov 
Dr Calvin J Smith Teaching Fellow 5013 calvin.smith
Dr Peter K Sweby Associate Professor 8675

p.k.sweby

Dr Marcus Tindall Associate Professor of Mathematical Biology 8992 m.tindall
Professor Sue C Todd Professor of Medical Statistics 8917 s.c.todd
Dr Eugen Varvaruca Associate Professor 5352 e.varvaruca 
Dr Jani Virtanen Lecturer  7930  j.a.virtanen
Dr Zuowei Wang Lecturer  4618  zuowei.wang
Ms Dawn Willoughby Lecturer 5017  d.a.willoughby

Research staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Jing Cao EPSRC Postdoctoral Research Associate  5336  jing.cao  
Dr Billiejoe Charlton  Research Associate  6378  n.a.charlton 
Dr Ewan Colman  Research Associate  7007  e.colman
Dr Joanne Dunster  Research Associate  5012  j.l.dunster 
Dr Alison Fowler Research Associate 8989   a.m.fowler  
Dr Georgios Giasemidis  Research Associate  6378  g.giasemidis
Dr Warren Hicks  Technology Transfer Officer  7007  w.j.hicks 
Dr Alex Lukyanov Senior Research Fellow 8992 a.lukyanov
Dr Andrea Moiola Senior Research Fellow  8992  a.moiola 
Dr Anush Poghosyan Research Associate 7927  a.poghosyan  
Dr Dennis Prangle Rado Postdoctoral Fellow in Applied Statistics

8994

d.b.prangle
Dr Sean Prendiville Rado Postdoctoral Fellow in Number Theory 8994 s.m.prendiville
Dr Colin P Singleton Research Fellow 6378 c.p.singleton
Dr Polly J Smith Research Associate 8989  p.j.smith  
Dr Pawel Stasiak Research Associate 8556 p.stasiak

Sessional lecturers

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Vassili Corbas Sessional Lecturer 6672

 b.corbas

Mrs Elizabeth M Glaister Sessional Lecturer 5017  e.m.glaister
Dr Mark Peace Sessional Lecturer 7227  m.h.k.peace
Mrs Val L Uglow Sessional Lecturer 5017  v.l.uglow
Dr Graham D Williams Sessional Lecturer 8989  g.d.williams

Visiting professors

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Professor Mike Cullen Visiting Professor    
Professor Peter Grindrod, CBE Visiting Professor    

Visiting research fellows

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Dr David P Hewett Visiting Research Fellow d.p.hewett@reading.ac.uk
Dr Godela Scherer-Abreu Visiting Research Fellow    
Dr Fiona M Underwood Visiting Research Fellow f.m.underwood@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mrs Brigitte Calderon Departmental Secretary 5002 b.calderon
Mrs Lisa Cranfield  Placement Officer  7611  l.j.cranfield
Mrs Anna M C Ellis Undergraduate Admissions Secretary (School Teaching and Learning Office) 7585 a.m.c.ellis
Ms Ruth Harris  Finance Administrator and PA to Heads of School  8022 

r.m.harris 

Mrs Peta-Ann King  Postgraduate Research Administrator  8991  p.king
Miss Sophie King-Waring  Undergraduate Administrator (School Teaching and Learning Office)  7612  s.n.king-waring  
Mrs Alex Y Owen Teaching and Learning Secretary (School Teaching and Learning Office) 8021 a.y.owen
Ms Kate H Shaw School Teaching and Learning Administrator 8541 k.h.shaw
Ms Linda Watson  MSc Administrator  7599  linda.watson 
Miss Ros H M Young Departmental Secretary 8996 r.h.m.young

Emeritus professors

Name Email
Professor Robert N Curnow r.n.curnow@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anthony J W Hilton a.j.w.hilton@reading.ac.uk
Professor Roger Mead
Professor David Porter
Professor Michael J Sewell michael@sewells.org
Professor John D M Wright, FRSE

Things to do now

Contact us

  • Email:
    maths@reading.ac.uk

  • Telephone:
    +44 (0) 118 378 8996

  • Fax:
    +44 (0) 118 931 3423

  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Whiteknights, PO Box 220, Reading RG6 6AX, UK 

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists