Staff list

 

Staff responsibilities

 

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email
@reading.ac.uk

Dr Karen L Ayres Associate Professor 8023 k.l.ayres
Dr M Fazil Baksh Lecturer 8034 m.f.baksh
Dr Nick R T Biggs Associate Professor  8998  n.r.t.biggs 
Dr Horatio Boedihardjo  Lecturer  5019 h.s.boedihardjo
Dr Jochen Broecker Associate Professor  8578  j.broecker 
Dr Peter G Chamberlain Associate Professor 5005 p.g.chamberlain
Professor Simon N Chandler-Wilde Professor of Applied Mathematics 6017 s.n.chandler-wilde
Dr Sarah L Dance Associate Professor of Data Assimilation 6452 s.l.dance
Dr Richard Everitt Lecturer  8030  r.g.everitt 
Ms Hannah Fairbanks Teaching Fellow 4720  h.e.fairbanks 
Professor Paul Glaister Professor of Mathematics and Mathematics Education 6673 p.glaister
Dr Danica Vukadinovic Greetham Lecturer 8032 d.v.greetham
Dr Titus W Hilberdink Lecturer 5020 t.w.hilberdink
Dr Patrick Ilg Associate Professor 8544  p.ilg 
Dr Nikos Katzourakis Lecturer  7463  n.katzourakis 
Dr Tobias Kuna Associate Professor 6028 t.kuna
Dr Stephen Langdon Head of Department
Associate Professor
5021 s.langdon
Dr Amos S Lawless Lecturer 5018 a.s.lawless
Professor Michael Levitin Professor of Applied Mathematics 8997 m.levitin
Professor Alexei Likhtman Professor of Mathematical Physics
Professor Valerio Lucarini  Professor of Statistical Mechanics 5573 v.lucarini
Dr Alex Lukyanov  Senior Research Fellow  8992 a.lukyanov 
Dr Andrea Moiola  Senior Research Fellow  4272  a.moiola 
Dr Claudia Neves  Lecturer  7931  c.neves 
Mrs Claire Newbold  Work-based Learning Teaching Fellow  7611  c.newbold
Dr Rachel Newton Lecturer 8914  r.d.newton 
Professor Nancy K Nichols Professor of Applied Mathematics 8988 n.k.nichols
Professor Beatrice Pelloni Professor of Applied Mathematics 8990 b.pelloni
Professor Roland W E Potthast Professor of Applied Mathematics 7614 r.w.e.potthast
Dr Tristan Pryer Lecturer 6539 t.pryer
Professor Sebastian Reich Professor of Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing s.reich
Dr Calvin J Smith Lecturer 5013 calvin.smith
Dr Peter K Sweby Associate Professor 8675

p.k.sweby

Dr Marcus Tindall Associate Professor of Mathematical Biology 8989 m.tindall
Professor Sue C Todd Professor of Medical Statistics 8917 s.c.todd
Dr Eugen Varvaruca Associate Professor 5352 e.varvaruca 
Dr Jani Virtanen Lecturer  7930  j.a.virtanen
Dr Zuowei Wang Associate Professor 4618  zuowei.wang

Research staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Simon Baker Rado Postdoctoral Fellow in Mathematics and Statistics 5012  s.p.baker 
Dr Jing Cao EPSRC Postdoctoral Research Associate  5336  j.cao  
Dr Billiejoe Charlton  Research Associate  6378  n.a.charlton 
Dr Apostolos Evangelopoulos Research Associate    a.e.a.s.evangelopoulos@reading.ac.uk 
Dr Alison Fowler Research Associate 8994  a.m.fowler  
Dr Georgios Giasemidis  Research Associate  6378  g.giasemidis
Dr Laura Hattam Research Associate  7927  l.hattam 
Miss Beccy Haunton  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  5012  r.k.haunton 
Dr Warren Hicks  Technology Transfer Officer  7007  w.j.hicks 
Miss Katherine Howes  Postdoctoral Research Assistant  6067  k.e.howes 
Dr Marcello Seri Richard Rado Postdoctoral Fellow in Mathematics and Statistics 5012  m.seri
Dr Colin P Singleton Research Fellow 6378 c.p.singleton
Dr Polly J Smith Research Associate 8994 p.j.smith  
Dr Pawel Stasiak Research Associate 8556 p.stasiak
Dr Anoop Varghese  Postdoctoral Research Assistant   a-varghese

Sessional lecturers

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Vassili Corbas Sessional Lecturer 6672

 b.corbas

Mrs Elizabeth M Glaister Sessional Lecturer 5017  e.m.glaister
Dr Mark Peace Sessional Lecturer 7227  m.h.k.peace
Mrs Val L Uglow Sessional Lecturer 5017  v.l.uglow
Dr Graham D Williams Sessional Lecturer  g.d.williams

Visiting professors

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Professor Mike Cullen Visiting Professor    
Professor Peter Grindrod, CBE Visiting Professor    
Professor Mark Matsen  Visiting Professor     
Professor Richard Norgate  Visiting Professor     
Professor M. Richards, OBE  Visiting Professor     
Professor Enrique ZuaZua  Visiting Professor     

Visiting research fellows

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Dr Philip Bowtell  Visiting Research Fellow     
Dr Joanne Dunster  Visiting Research Fellow    j.l.dunster 
Dr David P Hewett Visiting Research Fellow d.p.hewett@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mladen Savov  Visiting Research Fellow     
Dr Godela Scherer-Abreu Visiting Research Fellow    
Dr Fiona M Underwood Visiting Research Fellow f.m.underwood@reading.ac.uk

Administrative staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mrs Brigitte Calderon Departmental Secretary 5002 b.calderon
Mrs Lisa Cranfield  Placement Officer  7611  l.j.cranfield
Ms Ruth Harris  Finance Administrator and PA to Head of Department  8022 

r.m.harris 

Miss Sophie King-Waring  Undergraduate Administrator (School Teaching and Learning Office)  7612  s.n.king-waring  
Mrs Alex Y Owen Teaching and Learning Secretary (School Teaching and Learning Office) 8021 a.y.owen
Mr Liam Smalley  School Administrative Assistant  7585  l.smalley 
Mrs Annette Sneddon  Departmental Secretary  8996  a.m.sneddon 
Ms Linda Watson  MSc Administrator  7599  l.watson 

Emeritus professors

Name Telephone  Email
Professor Michael Baines   8993 m.j.baines 
Professor Les J Bunce    l.j.bunce 
Professor Robert N Curnow   r.n.curnow
Professor Anthony J W Hilton   a.j.w.hilton
Professor David Porter  
Professor Michael J Sewell   m.j.sewell
Professor John D M Wright, FRSE  

Things to do now

Contact us

  • Email:
    maths@reading.ac.uk

  • Telephone:
    +44 (0) 118 378 8996

  • Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Whiteknights, PO Box 220, Reading RG6 6AX, UK

 

 

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists