Skip to main content

Meet the Team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our Staff

Meet the Team

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email
@reading.ac.uk

Dr Karen L Ayres Associate Professor 8023 k.l.ayres
Dr M Fazil Baksh Lecturer 8034 m.f.baksh
Dr Horatio Boedihardjo  Lecturer  5019 h.s.boedihardjo
Dr Nick R T Biggs Associate Professor 8998 n.r.t.biggs
Dr Jochen Broecker Associate Professor  8578  j.broecker 
Dr Peter G Chamberlain Director of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Professor 5005 p.g.chamberlain
Professor Simon N Chandler-Wilde Professor of Applied Mathematics 6017 s.n.chandler-wilde
Dr Sarah L Dance Associate Professor of Data Assimilation 6452 s.l.dance
Dr Richard Everitt Lecturer  8030  r.g.everitt 
Ms Hannah Fairbanks Teaching Fellow 4720  h.e.fairbanks 
Professor Paul Glaister Professor of Mathematics and Mathematics Education 6673 p.glaister
Dr Danica Vukadinovic Greetham Lecturer 8032 d.v.greetham
Dr Titus W Hilberdink Lecturer 5020 t.w.hilberdink
Dr Patrick Ilg Associate Professor 8544  p.ilg 
Dr Nikos Katzourakis Associate Professor 7463  n.katzourakis 
Dr Tobias Kuna Associate Professor 6028 t.kuna
Dr Stephen Langdon Head of Department
Associate Professor
5021 s.langdon
Dr Amos S Lawless Associate Professor 5018 a.s.lawless
Professor Michael Levitin Professor of Applied Mathematics 8997 m.levitin
Professor Valerio Lucarini  Professor of Statistical Mechanics 5573 v.lucarini
Dr Alex Lukyanov  Senior Research Fellow  8992 a.lukyanov 
Dr Andrea Moiola  Senior Research Fellow  4272  a.moiola 
Dr Claudia Neves  Lecturer  7931  c.neves 
Mrs Claire Newbold Teaching Fellow 7611 c.newbold 
Dr Rachel Newton Lecturer 8914  r.d.newton 
Professor Nancy K Nichols Professor of Applied Mathematics 8988 n.k.nichols
Professor Roland W E Potthast Professor of Applied Mathematics 7614 r.w.e.potthast
Dr Tristan Pryer Admissions Tutor, Lecturer in Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing 6539 t.pryer
Professor Sebastian Reich Professor of Numerical Analysis and Scientific Computing s.reich
Dr Calvin J Smith Lecturer 5013 calvin.smith
Dr Peter K Sweby Associate Professor 8675

p.k.sweby

Dr Marcus Tindall Director of PG Studies, Associate Professor of Mathematical Biology 8989 m.tindall
Professor Sue C Todd Professor of Medical Statistics 8917 s.c.todd
Dr Jani Virtanen Lecturer  7930  j.a.virtanen
Dr Zuowei Wang Associate Professor 4618  zuowei.wang

Research staff

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Dipesh Amin Research Associate 7615  d.amin2 
Dr Ganesh Diwan Research Associate  8994  g.c.diwan 
Dr Joanne Dunster Research Associate 8994 j.l.dunster 
Dr Apostolos Evangelopoulos Research Associate  5336  a.e.a.s.evangelopoulos 
Dr Gyorgy Geher  Research Associate  5012  g.p.geher 
Dr Georgios Giasemidis  Research Associate  6378  g.giasemidis
Dr Sam Groth Research Associate 8995  s.groth 
Dr Laura Hattam Research Associate  7927  l.hattam 
Dr Beccy Haunton  Research Associate  5012  r.k.haunton 
Dr Warren Hicks  Technology Transfer Officer  7007  w.j.hicks 
Miss Katherine Howes  Research Associate 6067  k.e.howes 
Dr Nikolaos Kaplis   Research Associate  6378  n.kaplis
Dr Felipe Medina Aguayo  Research Associate  8995  f.j.medinaaguayo 
Dr George Papamikos  Richard Rado Postdoctoral Fellow 5012  g.papamikos 
Dr Giles Shaw Research Associate  5012  g.shaw 
Dr Colin P Singleton Research Fellow 6378 c.p.singleton
Dr Polly J Smith Research Associate 8994 p.j.smith  
Dr Pawel Stasiak Research Associate 8556 p.stasiak
Dr Anoop Varghese  Research Associate  5336  a-varghese 

Sessional lecturers

Name

Position

Telephone
+44 (0) 118 378

Email

Dr Vassili Corbas Sessional Lecturer 6672

 b.corbas

Mrs Elizabeth M Glaister Sessional Lecturer 5017  e.m.glaister
Dr Mark Peace Sessional Lecturer 7227  m.h.k.peace
Mrs Val L Uglow Sessional Lecturer 5017  v.l.uglow
Dr Graham D Williams Sessional Lecturer 8989  g.d.williams

Visiting professors

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Professor Paul Childs   Visiting Professor     
Professor Mike Cullen Visiting Professor    
Professor Peter Grindrod, CBE Visiting Professor    
Professor Mark Matsen  Visiting Professor     
Professor Richard Norgate  Visiting Professor     
Professor M. Richards, OBE  Visiting Professor     
Professor Enrique ZuaZua  Visiting Professor     

Visiting research fellows

Names

Position

 Telephone

 Email

Dr Philip Bowtell  Visiting Research Fellow     
Dr Mladen Savov  Visiting Research Fellow     
Dr Godela Scherer-Abreu Visiting Research Fellow    

Administrative staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mrs Brigitte Calderon Administrator 5002 b.calderon
Mrs Lisa Cranfield  Placement Officer  7611  l.j.cranfield
Ms Ruth Harris  Executive Administration Officer and PA to Head of Department  8022 

r.m.harris 

Miss Sophie King-Waring  Programme Administrator  7612  s.n.king-waring  
Mrs Alex Y Owen Senior Programme Administrator 8021 a.y.owen
Mr Liam Smalley  Programme Administrator 7585  l.smalley 
Ms Linda Watson  Student Support Coordinator 7599  l.watson 

Emeritus professors

Name Telephone  Email
Professor Michael Baines   8993 m.j.baines 
Professor Les J Bunce   5019 l.j.bunce 
Professor Robert N Curnow   r.n.curnow
Professor Anthony J W Hilton   a.j.w.hilton
Professor David Porter  
Professor Michael J Sewell   m.j.sewell
Professor John D M Wright, FRSE  

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top