Accessibility navigation

Celebration of Teaching and Learning Success awards 2016

Teaching & Learning awards 2016

The 2016 Celebration of Teaching and Learning Success awards were held towards the end of September, with awards presented to colleagues for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning. 

The annual awards recognise individual and team efforts and are co-ordinated by the University’s Centre for Quality Support and Development (CQSD). 

University Teaching Fellowship Scheme (UTFS)

The UTFS is a prestigious and competitive award conferred on an individual who has demonstrated individual excellence and contributed to the development of teaching and learning within the University and beyond. 

Winners are: 

Dr Rachel Pye, Lecturer and Director of Teaching and Learning, Psychology

Dr Rhi Smith, Director, Heritage and Creativity Institute

Dr Laura Bennett, Associate Professor, Law

Dr Andrew Charlton-Perez, Associate Professor, Meteorology

Dr Philippa Cranwell, Teaching Fellow, Chemistry

Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice (PGCAP)

The PGCAP Project Prize is awarded to eligible projects and portfolios given the mark of Distinction by the PGCAP Examination Board. Projects awarded PGCAP prizes are considered most likely to influence practices within the School and/or discipline area. In addition, the David Malvern Portfolio Prize is awarded for the portfolio which best demonstrates a commitment to continual improvement and development. The David Malvern APP Prize is awarded to the candidate who achieves the highest marks across all of the APP module assessments. 

PGCAP Project Prize

Dr Nicola Abram & Dr Stephane Girod

David Malvern Portfolio Prize

Dr Nicola Abram & Dr Stefan Smith

David Malvern APP Prize   

Daniela Standen

University collaborative awards for outstanding contributions to teaching and learning 

This highly competitive scheme recognises and rewards select groups of staff who have made significant and ongoing contributions to the student learning experience and who have demonstrated an integrated team approach to enhancing teaching and learning.

Three awards were presented to the following cross-disciplinary teams:

THRIVE Career Mentoring Scheme

Natalie Tarling (Careers), Dr Becky Thomas (Ecology and Evolutionary Biology), Tania Lyden (Careers), Dr Philip Dash (Biomedical Sciences), Dr Karen Ayres (Maths and Statistics), Dr Orla Kennedy (Teaching and Learning Dean), Guja Bandini (has now left the University)

GRASS – Generating Resources and Access to Screen capture Software

Dr Cindy Becker (English Literature), Dr Emma Mayhew (Politics and International Relations), Dr David Nutt (Chemistry)

Developing subject-specific academic language and literacy skills for Psychology

Dr Graham Schafer (Psychology), Dr Juliane Honisch (Psychology), Karin Whiteside (International Study and Language Institute), Dr Rachel Pye (Psychology)

Speaking of this year’s awards, Professor Gavin Brooks, Pro-Vice-Chancellor for Teaching and Learning, said:

“Our annual teaching and learning awards recognise and celebrate the remarkable achievements of talented and committed members of our staff whose contributions do so much to enhance students’ experience here at Reading.

“I am delighted to take this opportunity to congratulate all the award winners and pay tribute to their exceptional contribution of the very best in teaching and learning practice and the impact they have had on students’ learning experience and the wider T&L community.”

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation