Accessibility navigation

Staff teaching and learning excellence rewarded

Cindy Becker, Claire McCullagh, Michelle Reid, Matthew Almond and Eileen Hyder

Cindy Becker, Claire McCullagh, Michelle Reid, Matthew Almond and Eileen Hyder

Over 50 members of staff have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to teaching and learning at a special awards ceremony, organised by the Centre for Quality Support and Development (CQSD).

Alongside the national and University teaching and learning awards and fellowships (read more about the winners), Professor Gavin Brooks congratulated staff who have been recognised by the Higher Education Academy, Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice (PGCAP) and Teaching and Learning Support Programme (TLSP).

Teaching and Learning Support Programme

This programme is designed for postgraduates, research staff, technicians, administrators and Library or IT Services staff who are involved in supporting student learning. Each year there is a prize for the best Portfolio. This year the prize was given to:

Lilly Mae Liddicott (Food and Nutritional Sciences, School of Chemistry, Food & Pharmacy)

Postgraduate Certificate in Academic Practice (PGCAP)

The PGCAP is a programme designed specifically to meet the continuing professional development needs of new lecturers. Staff studying the PGCAP are required to create a reflective teaching portfolio and to undertake a teaching and learning research project relating to their area of interest. All projects and portfolios submitted as part of the PGCAP are eligible to be considered for the Portfolio and Project Prizes.

The David Malvern Portfolio Prize is given to those who best demonstrate a commitment to continual improvement and development. It is named after the late Professor David Malvern who was PGCAP Programme Director from its inception in 2001. David was a remarkable man and the PGCAP programme benefited greatly from his energy, expertise and passion for teaching and learning. This year the prize was given to:

Caroline Crolla and Dr Eileen Hyder (Institute of Education)

Two projects also received a special award:

Dr Michelle Reid (Study Advisor, Library and Collections Services, Student and Academic Services) for her project 'Remembering the Neglected Transition: Study Resources for Taught Masters Students'

Dr Sophie Heywood (Modern Languages and European Studies, School of Literature & Languages) for her project 'Investigate interdisciplinarity in the development of a part one module for the French section'

Higher Education Academy Recognition

Professional Recognition is becoming increasingly important for Higher Education, and the Higher Education Academy's recognition scheme contributes towards the professionalisation of teaching. We have around 300 Fellows at the University of Reading.

The categories of Senior and Principal Fellow categories were introduced in 2011 - we now have our first Senior and Principal Fellows.

Senior Fellow status is designed to recognise the achievements of staff who have had an influence on professional practice beyond their own teaching. Our Senior Fellows are:

Dr Anne Crook (CQSD), Clare McCullagh (CQSD), Dr Elizabeth McCrum (IoE), Dr Elizabeth Page (Chemistry, Food & Pharmacy), Professor Matthew Almond (Chemistry, Food & Pharmacy), Dr Richard Harris (IoE), Dr Cindy Becker (Literature & Languages)

Principal Fellow status recognises the achievements of champions of effective practice within the HE sector. Principal Fellows will be staff with a sustained record of effective strategic leaderships within an institution and beyond. Our Principal Fellows are Professor Julian Park and Dr Paddy Woodman.

Congratulations to all!

Page navigation

Search Form

Main navigation