Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

​Department of History staff

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
 Ms Liz Barnes  Lecturer in modern history   l.barnes@reading.ac.uk<L.BARNES@READING.AC.UK>
Dr Richard Blakemore Lecturer in the History of the Atlantic World c1500-1800
Social Media lead
+44 (0) 118 378 7736 r.blakemore@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Burchardt Associate Professor in Rural History
Chair of Exams
+44 (0) 118 378 7735 j.f.s.burchardt@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Davies Professor of the History of Architecture
Part one Exams
+44 (0) 118 378 7880 p.davies@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rohan Deb Roy Lecturer in South Asian History
Study Abroad Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8148 r.debroy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joel Felix

Professor of French History Part 2 Exams

+44 (0) 118 378 7336 j.m.felix@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Foxley

Associate Professor of Early Modern History
Director of Postgraduate Research

+44 (0) 118 378 6005 r.h.foxley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Lindy Grant

Professor of Medieval History
School Senior Tutor and Departmental Senior Tutor

+44 (0) 118 378 5237 l.m.grant@reading.ac.uk
Miss Rosie Knight Graduate Teaching Assistant +44 (0) 118 378 8144 r.knight@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Lawrence-Mathers

Professor in Medieval History

Head of Department

RSO Convener

Libraries and Museums

HAMD Convenor

+44 (0) 118 378 7659 a.e.mathers-lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Dr Simon Lee Associate Professor of the History of Art  (retired) s.lee@reading.ac.uk
Professor Patrick Major

Professor of Modern History

Admissions Tutor for History 

+44 (0) 118 378 8143 p.major@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Matthew Lecturer in Medieval History
Director of Teaching and Learning
Coordinator for the Joint Degrees and Part-Time Degree
+44 (0) 118 378 8410 e.a.e.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Newton

Lecturer in History
STaR Mentor Coordinator

(Wellcome Fellowship)

+44 (0) 118 378 7332 h.c.newton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mara Oliva Lecturer in History
Director of the M.A. in History
+44 (0) 118 378 8146 m.oliva@reading.ac.uk
Professor Helen Parish

Professor of Early Modern History

Joint Acting Head of School

 

+44 (0) 118 378 8145 h.l.parish@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Renshaw Lecturer in Modern History +44 (0) 118 378 7343 d.g.renshaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dina Rezk

Associate Professor  in Middle Eastern History

Social Media Team member

+44 (0) 118 378 8856 d.rezk@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Rist Associate Professor In Medieval History
Director of the Graduate Centre for Medieval Studies
+44 (0) 118 378 7337 r.a.c.rist@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Salter Lecturer in Medical History (Medieval) r.j.salter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Heike Schmidt Associate Professor in Modern African History
Director of Internationalisation
+44 (0) 118 378 6543 h.i.schmidt@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Stack

Professor of Modern History

Director, Widening Participation and Employability

+44 (0) 118 378 8149 d.a.stack@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natalie Thomlinson

Lecturer of Modern British Cultural History (1800-2000)

Dissertation Module Convenor

Convenor Departmental Research Seminars

+44 (0) 118 378 6549 n.thomlinson@reading.ac.uk
Mr Dafydd Townley Lecturer in Modern History
+44 (0) 118 378 7647 d.townley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jacqui Turner

Lecturer in Modern History

Director of Outreach

Social media Team Member

+44 (0) 118 378 7317 e.j.turner@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emily West

Professor in American History

Joint Acting Head of School

Research Division Leader

+44 (0) 118 378 5376 e.r.west@reading.ac.uk
Professor Kate Williams Professor in Public Engagement with History k.r.williams@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andy Willimott Lecturer in Modern Russian/Soviet History
Part 3 examinations
+44 (0) 118 378 6599 a.willimott@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Worley

Professor of Modern British History

Research Impact lead

UoA lead for REF

+44 (0) 118 378 6582 m.worley@reading.ac.uk
Ms Donna Yamani Lecturer in Modern History +44 (0) 118 378 8191 d.yamani@reading.ac.uk

EMERITUS, HONORARY AND VISITING STAFF

Name Position Contact
Professor Malcolm Barber Professor m.c.barber@reading.ac.uk
Professor Michael Biddiss Professor m.d.biddiss@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Bosworth Professor r.j.b.bosworth@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ralph Houlbrooke Professor r.a.houlbrooke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brian Kemp Professor b.r.kemp@reading.ac.uk
Professor Donald Matthew Professor d.j.a.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Frank Tallett f.tallett@reading.ac.uk

Support

Name Position Telephone Email
Nathan Shaw UG Programme Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 8141 history-admin@reading.ac.uk
Julie Maskell UG Programme Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 8233 history-admin@reading.ac.uk
Sally Davey Student Support Coordinator +44 (0) 118 378 4243 ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research courses

Name Position Telephone Email
Catherine O'Hare Postgraduate Research Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.ohare@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top