Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

​Department of History staff

Academic staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Dr Richard Blakemore Lecturer in the History of the Atlantic World c1500-1800
Part 2 Examinations
+44 (0) 118 378 7736 r.blakemore@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jeremy Burchardt Associate Professor in Rural History
Departmental Senior Tutor and Chair of Exams
+44 (0) 118 378 7735 j.f.s.burchardt@reading.ac.uk
Professor Paul Davies Professor of History of Art
Director of BA History of Art
+44 (0) 118 378 7880 p.davies@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rohan Deb Roy Lecturer in South Asian History
Study Abroad Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8148 r.debroy@reading.ac.uk
Professor Joel Felix Professor of French History +44 (0) 118 378 7336 j.m.felix@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Foxley

Associate Professor of Early Modern History
Director of Postgraduate Studies

+44 (0) 118 378 6005 r.h.foxley@reading.ac.uk
Professor Lindy Grant Professor of Medieval History
School Senior Tutor
+44 (0) 118 378 5237 l.m.grant@reading.ac.uk
Miss Rosie Knight Graduate Teaching Assistant +44 (0) 118 378 8144 r.knight@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Lawrence-Mathers Professor in Medieval History  +44 (0) 118 378 7659 a.e.mathers-lawrence@reading.ac.uk
Dr Simon Lee Associate Professor of the History of Art +44 (0) 118 378 8891 s.lee@reading.ac.uk
Professor Patrick Major

Professor of Modern History

Director of Admissions

+44 (0) 118 378 8143 p.major@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Matthew Lecturer in Medieval History
Director of Teaching and Learning
Employability Convenor
Part-time Degree Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8410 e.a.e.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hannah Newton Wellcome Trust University Award Lecturer
STaR Mentor Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 7332 h.c.newton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mara Oliva Lecturer in History
Part One Coordinator
+44 (0) 118 378 8146 m.oliva@reading.ac.uk
Professor Helen Parish Professor of Early Modern History
Head of Department
+44 (0) 118 378 8145 h.l.parish@reading.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Renshaw Lecturer in Modern History +44 (0) 118 378 7343 d.g.renshaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dina Rezk Lecturer in Middle Eastern History +44 (0) 118 378 8148 d.rezk@reading.ac.uk
Dr Rebecca Rist Associate Professor In Medieval History
Director of the Graduate Centre for Medieval Studies
+44 (0) 118 378 7337 r.a.c.rist@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Salter Lecturer in Medical History (Medieval)
Social Media
r.j.salter@reading.ac.uk
Dr Heike Schmidt Associate Professor in Modern African History
Director of Internationalisation
+44 (0) 118 378 6543 h.i.schmidt@reading.ac.uk
Professor David Stack Professor of Modern History +44 (0) 118 378 8149 d.a.stack@reading.ac.uk
Dr Natalie Thomlinson Lecturer of Modern British Cultural History (1800-2000)
Dissertation module convenor
+44 (0) 118 378 6549 n.thomlinson@reading.ac.uk
Mr Dafydd Townley Graduate Teaching Assistant
+44 (0) 118 378 7647 d.townley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jacqui Turner

Lecturer in Modern History
Director of Outreach and Widening Participation

+44 (0) 118 378 7317 e.j.turner@reading.ac.uk
Professor Emily West

Professor in American History
Research Division Leader

+44 (0) 118 378 5376 e.r.west@reading.ac.uk
Professor Kate Williams Professor in Public Engagement with History
History MA Director
k.r.williams@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andy Willimott Lecturer in Modern Russian/Soviet History
Part 3 examinations
+44 (0) 118 378 6599 a.willimott@reading.ac.uk
Professor Matthew Worley Professor of Modern British History
Research Impact lead
+44 (0) 118 378 6582 m.worley@reading.ac.uk
Ms Donna Yamani Lecturer in Modern Art History +44 (0) 118 378 8191 d.yamani@reading.ac.uk

EMERITUS, HONORARY AND VISITING STAFF

Name Position Contact
Professor Malcolm Barber Professor m.c.barber@reading.ac.uk
Professor Michael Biddiss Professor m.d.biddiss@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Bosworth Professor r.j.b.bosworth@reading.ac.uk
Professor Ralph Houlbrooke Professor r.a.houlbrooke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Brian Kemp Professor b.r.kemp@reading.ac.uk
Professor Donald Matthew Professor d.j.a.matthew@reading.ac.uk
Dr Frank Tallett f.tallett@reading.ac.uk

Support

Name Position Telephone Email
Julia Wynn UG Programme Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 8141 j.m.wynn@reading.ac.uk 
Julie Maskell UG Programme Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 8233 julie.maskell@reading.ac.uk
Patrick Holmes  Student Support Coordinator +44 (0) 118 378 5443 p.a.holmes@reading.ac.uk 

Postgraduate Research courses

Name Position Telephone Email
Catherine O'Hare Postgraduate Research Administrator +44 (0) 118 378 5799 c.l.ohare@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top