Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

Geography and Environmental Science Staff

Academic Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Nick Branch Head of School / Associate Professor in Palaeoecology + 44 (0)118 378 6102 n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Clark Associate Professor in Soil Carbon + 44 (0)118 378 6581 j.m.clark@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hannah Cloke Professor in Hydrology + 44 (0)118 378 6974 h.l.cloke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Professor of Environmental Chemistry + 44 (0)118 378 8910 c.d.collins@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sylvie Dubuc Lecturer in Human Geography & Population Studies s.dubuc@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7755 r.evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Giuseppe Feola Lecturer in Environment and Development + 44 (0)118 378 7496 g.feola@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hilary Geoghegan Associate Professor in Human Geography h.geoghegan@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mike Goodman Chair in Geography (Environment and Development) + 44 (0)118 378 7686 m.k.goodman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Geoffrey Griffiths Associate Professor in Physical Geography + 44 (0)118 378 8737 g.h.griffiths@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Gurney Senior Tutor / Associate Professor in Geomorphology + 44 (0)118 378 7758 s.d.gurney@reading.ac.uk
Professor Sandy Harrison Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles + 44 (0)118 378 5258 s.p.harrison@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alan Howard School Director of Teaching & Learning / Associate Professor in Computational Geography + 44 (0)118 378 8763 a.howard@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7293 s.lloyd-evans@reading.ac.uk
 Dr Avril Maddrell  Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7756 avril.maddrell@reading.ac.uk  
Professor Frank Mayle Professor in Ecosystems Ecology + 44 (0)118 378 6260 f.mayle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hazel McGoff Environmental Science Programme Director + 44 (0)118 378 6743 h.j.mcgoff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steven Musson Head of the Department of Geography & Environmental Science / Associate Professor in Economic Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7753 s.musson@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chukwumerije Okereke Professor in Environment & Development + 44 (0)118 378 6230 c.okereke@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Robinson Associate Professor in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry + 44 (0)118 378 6075 j.s.robinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shovonlal Roy Lecturer in Remote Sensing in Ecosystems Sciences + 44 (0)118 378 8944 shovonlal.roy@reading.ac.uk
Dr Maria Shahgedanova Associate Professor in Climate Science + 44 (0)118 378 7745 m.shahgedanova@reading.ac.uk
Dr Liz Shaw Associate Professor of Soil Microbiology and Biochemistry + 44 (0)118 378 6971 e.j.shaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tom Sizmur Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk
Professor Richard Skeffington Principal Research Fellow / Lecturer + 44 (0)118 378 7323 r.a.skeffington@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Verhoef Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology + 44 (0)118 378 6074 a.verhoef@reading.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Wade Professor of Hydrology + 44 (0)118 378 7315 a.j.wade@reading.ac.uk
Dr Kevin White Director of Postgraduate Studies (SAGES), Associate Professor in Environmental Remote Sensing + 44 (0)118 378 7752 k.h.white@reading.ac.u

Research Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Mohammed Afzal Postdoctoral Researcher + 44 (0)118 378 7285   m.afzal@reading.ac.uk
Sharon Burton Project Support Officer + 44 (0)118 378 7323  s.e.burton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Macarena Cardenas

Postdoctoral Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 6750

m.l.cardenas@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ian Davenport

Postdoctoral Research Associate

+ 44 (0)118 378 7762

i.j.davenport@reading.ac.uk

Dr Claudia Di Napoli Postdoctoral Research Associate c.dinapoli@reading.ac.uk

Dr Guangqi Li

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 6805

g.li2@reading.ac.uk

 Jeremy LeLean  Soil Security Programme – Web and Communication Officer + 44 (0)118 378 7323   j.lelean@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Mason

Senior Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 8740

d.c.mason@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jessica Neumann Postdoctoral Research Assistant   j.l.neumann@reading.ac.uk
Dr Suvarna Punalekar Postdoctoral Researcher + 44 (0)118 378 6997 suvarna.punalekar@reading.ac.uk
Dr Beena Balan Sarojini  Postdoctoral Researcher + 44 (0)118 378 6238 b.balansarojini@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sumit Sinha Postdoctoral Researcher + 44 (0)118 378 7896 sumit.sinha@reading.ac.uk

Dr Liz Stephens

Geography and Environmental Science Research Group ESSRG

elisabeth.stephens@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project

Ahmed Al-Arazah

a.a.w.a.r.al-arazah@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Reclaimed water and drought management.
Betty Amponsah-Doku b.amponsah-doku@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Investigating the contribution of abiotic stresses to the Ghanaian cocoa yield gap.
Dedy Antony d.antony@pgr.reading.ac.uk Factors affecting soil carbon storage at depth in agricultural systems in the UK.
Prima Anugerahanti p.anugerahanti@pgr.reading.ac.uk A marine biogeochemical model with explicit representation of phytoplankton functional types.
Louise Arnal  l.l.s.arnal@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Seasonal  hydrological forecasting over Europe: prospects and applications. 
Alice Barrett a.barrett@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Developing a global model for leafy phenology and photosynthetic activity. 
Robin Boyd  r.boyd@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Individual-based Model of North Sea Fish using Satellite Remote Sensing.
Michelle Brooks  m.m.s.brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Belonging: perspectives of belonging amongst women for whom Islam is a significant influence. 

Brian Chirambo

b.chirambo@pgr.reading.ac.uk

UN-REDD+ implementation process in Zambia. 

Francesca Church

f.h.church@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Preservationism and Development in Rural England 1926-2016: Policy and Practice. 
Philip Coventry  p.coventry@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate Justice within the Multilateral Governance Regime: An Analysis of Discourse and Policy Output. 

Mark Dobson

m.dobson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Localism and the future of participatory planning. 

Sarah Duddigan

s.l.duddigan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The fate of carbon from soil amendments in horticultural systems. 
Baktybek Duisebek  b.duisebek@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate change, water resource and agriculture in Kazakhstan. 
Angie Elwin  a.m.elwin@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Enhancing social and ecological mangrove resilience in shrimp farming communities. 

Rebecca Emerton

r.e.emerton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Implications of changes in climate regime for flood characteristics and global flood forecasting. 
Henny Folorunso  h.folorunso@pgr.reading.ac.uk  How do earthworms and soil microbial communities interact to determine the fate of organic matter amendments to soil? 

Anna Freeman

a.freemanneemalyavkina@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Why is knowledge of environmental factors insufficient to predict river grazing phytoplankton blooms? A study of the role of phytoplankton and predatory grazing. 

Jo Hamilton

e.j.hamilton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Emotional Methodologies for Climate Change Action: towards an understanding of emotion in NGO-public engagements. 
 Charlotte Hawkins c.e.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Developing optical methods for catchment to protect drinking water. 
Rebecca Heil  rebecca.heil@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Food, community and health impacts: a participatory assessment of the Whitley foodscape. 
Mark Hennen  m.hennen@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Characterising desert dust emissions in the Middle East using remote sensing. 

Ben Jones

b.m.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Quantifying and understanding uptake of plant protection products from soil into plants. 

Noor Jalilah Binti Jumaat 

n.j.b.jumaat@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Effectiveness of Management Strategies in Reducing Visitor Impacts at National Parks: A Comparative Study on Malaysia and the United Kingdom.

Jan Klaassen

j.f.klaassen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Lee Kyung-Kun

k.k.lee@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Global Climate Governance and the Political Economy of CDP.  

Kirsten Lees

k.j.lees@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Measuring peatland carbon sequestration and emissions by remote sensing. 

Stephen Lowe

s.r.lowe@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Developing a sustainable method for the determination of bioaccessibility of organic contaminants from polluted sites. 

Stephen Lowe

s.r.lowe@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Social Relations of Property: Motives, Means and Outcomes of the Community Right to Bid. 

Tessa Lynn

t.j.lynn@pgr.reading.ac.uk

 

David Macdonald

d.macdonald@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Groundwater flows in an urbanised floodplain and implications for environmental management. 

Abu-Bakar Massaquoi

a.s.massaquoi@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Addressing Tenure and Livelihood Matters for REDD+: Exploring the Problems and Prospects of an Adaptive Co-management Approach. 

Sabine Mayeux

s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space. 

Aliki McDonald

aliki.mcdonald@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Widening Participation in Higher Education - the Role of Parents.

Phiala Mehring

phiala.mehring@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Understanding and surmounting the barriers inhibiting the implementation of Natural Flood Risk Management. 

Diego Molina Franco

d.f.ramirezguerrero@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Floristic miscegenation in the citizen's bodies and the urban landscape in Colombia. 
Mohamad Nobakht  m.nobakht@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Assessment of dust deposition events and their impacts on glaciers of Central Asia using remote sensing. 
Callum Nolan  callum.nolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Multinational Oil Corporations and Climate Justice: a frame analysis of climate change and corporate climate responsibility in Nigeria. 

(Kofoworola) Amudat Olatunde

k.a.olatunde@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Characterization of Petroleum Hydrocarbon Contamination in Soils Using Visible Near Infrared Diffuse Reflectance Spectroscopy (Vis-VIR DRS). 

Heather Plumpton

h.plumpton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Amazonia and the 6K drought. 

Catharine Pschenyckyj

c.pschenyckyj@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Application of microbial fingerprinting techniques to attribute biological controls on recent changes in carbon cycling in organic soils. 

Harriet Robson

h.k.robson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Do competitive plant x plant interactions impact rhizosphere microbial community structure and function? 

Abdul-Razak Saeed

abdul-razak.saeed@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ensuring Community Benefits: a case study of REDD+ in Ghana. 

Richard Smith

r.smith3@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Amazonia under mid-Holocene drought. 

Marijke Struijk

m.struijk@pgr.reading.ac.uk

How can we make better use of crop residues? 

Victoria Struthers

v.l.struthers@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Exploring the role of deadwood in the forest carbon cycle. 

Fanen Terdoo

hz811462@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Vulnerability of rice crop value-chain to the combined pressure of markets and climate change in North-Central Nigeria: a system dynamics modelling approach. 

Sarah Thoma

s.e.thoma@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Examining the relationship between environmental and societal change during the past 1000 years. 

Patrick Thomson

p.g.thomson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Health impacts of intermittent water supply in rural Africa. 
Jamie Towner  j.towner@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate variability and extended-range flood forecasting for the Peruvian Amazon. 
Daniel Waite  d.b.waite@pgr.reading.ac.uk  A study of the Mechanics, Dynamics, Positions, Roles and Influences of the AGN and AILAC Blocs in the UNFCCC Climate Negotiations. 
Oliver Wilson  oliver.wilson@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Assessing the resilience of Brazil's iconic Araucaria forest to past and future climate change. 
Azin Wright  a.wright@pgr.reading.ac.uk  The effect of land surface hydrological process representation (paramaterization and parameter uncertainty) on drought prediction, at a range of spatio-temporal scales. 

Yoshie Yageta

y.yageta@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Evaluation of farmers' indigenous knowledge about soil to maintain crop productivity under soil diversity. 

Ervin Zsoter

e.zsoter@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Understanding global flood hazard climatology for improved early flood warning. 

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor Brian Alloway

Emeritus Professor

b.j.alloway@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Max Coleman

Emeritus Professor

m.l.coleman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Brian Goodall

Emeritus Professor

b.goodall@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff

Emeritus Professor

s.nortcliff@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Paul Whitehead

Emeritus Professor

p.g.whitehead@reading.ac.uk

Professor Alan Wild

Emeritus Professor

Professor Peter Worsley

Emeritus Professor

p.worsley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Paul Bardos

Visiting Professor

r.p.bardos@reading.ac.uk

Professor Andy Moffat

Visiting Professor

a.j.moffat@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Bowlby

Visiting research fellow

s.r.bowlby@reading.ac.uk

Dr Margaret Oliver

Visiting research fellow

m.a.oliver@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top