Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

Geography and Environmental Science Staff

Academic Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Stuart Black Associate Professor in Environmental Radioactivity +44 (0)118 378 8946 s.black@reading.ac.uk
Professor Nicholas Branch Head of School / Professor in Palaeoecology + 44 (0)118 378 6102 n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Clark Associate Professor in Soil Carbon + 44 (0)118 378 6581 j.m.clark@reading.ac.uk
Professor Hannah Cloke Professor in Hydrology + 44 (0)118 378 6974 h.l.cloke@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chris Collins Professor of Environmental Chemistry + 44 (0)118 378 8910 c.d.collins@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sylvie Dubuc Lecturer in Human Geography & Population Studies + 44 (0)118 378 8657 s.dubuc@reading.ac.uk
Dr Ruth Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7755 r.evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hilary Geoghegan Associate Professor in Human Geography h.geoghegan@reading.ac.uk
Professor Mike Goodman Chair in Geography (Environment and Development) + 44 (0)118 378 7686 m.k.goodman@reading.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Grisaffi Lecturer in Human Geography (Environment and Development) +44 (0)118 378 7496 t.grisaffi@reading.ac.uk
Professor Sandy Harrison Professor in Global Palaeoclimates and Biogeochemical Cycles + 44 (0)118 378 5258 s.p.harrison@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alan Howard School Director of Teaching & Learning / Associate Professor in Computational Geography + 44 (0)118 378 8763 a.howard@reading.ac.uk
Dr Sally Lloyd-Evans Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7293 s.lloyd-evans@reading.ac.uk
Dr Alison MacLeod Lecturer in Physical Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7909 alison.macleod@reading.ac.uk
Professor Avril Maddrell Associate Professor in Human Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7756 avril.maddrell@reading.ac.uk  
Professor Frank Mayle Professor in Ecosystems Ecology + 44 (0)118 378 6260 f.mayle@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hazel McGoff School Director of Academic Tutoring/Lecturer + 44 (0)118 378 6743 h.j.mcgoff@reading.ac.uk
Dr Filippo Menga Lecturer in Human Geography  +44 (0)118 378 7766 f.menga@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steven Musson Head of the Department of Geography & Environmental Science / Associate Professor in Economic Geography + 44 (0)118 378 7753 s.musson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Jess Neumann Lecturer in Geographic Information Systems (GIS) + 44 (0) 118 378 8912 j.l.neumann@reading.ac.uk
Professor Chukwumerije Okereke Professor in Environment & Development + 44 (0)118 378 6230 c.okereke@reading.ac.uk
Dr Steve Robinson Associate Professor in Soil and Water Biogeochemistry + 44 (0)118 378 6075 j.s.robinson@reading.ac.uk
Dr Shovonlal Roy Lecturer in Remote Sensing in Ecosystems Sciences + 44 (0)118 378 8944 shovonlal.roy@reading.ac.uk
Dr Eirini Saratsi

Teaching Fellow in Human Geography - Environment and Development

+44 (0)118 378 6559 e.saratsi@reading.ac.uk
Professor Maria Shahgedanova Professor in Climate Science + 44 (0)118 378 7745 m.shahgedanova@reading.ac.uk
Professor Liz Shaw Associate Professor of Soil Microbiology and Biochemistry + 44 (0)118 378 6971 e.j.shaw@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mike Simmonds Post-Doctoral Research Assistant + 44 (0)118 378 8853 m.j.simmonds@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tom Sizmur Lecturer in Environmental Chemistry + 44 (0)118 378 8913 t.sizmur@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Stephens Associate Professor +44 (0)118 378 7586 elisabeth.stephens@reading.ac.uk
Professor Anne Verhoef Professor of Soil Physics and Micrometeorology + 44 (0)118 378 6074 a.verhoef@reading.ac.uk
Professor Andrew Wade Professor of Hydrology + 44 (0)118 378 7315 a.j.wade@reading.ac.uk
Dr Kevin White Associate Professor in Environmental Remote Sensing + 44 (0)118 378 7752 k.h.white@reading.ac.u
Dr Edward Wigley Teaching Fellow in Human Geography - Cultural Geography  +44 (0)118 378 6559 e.t.f.wigley@reading.ac.uk
Dr Hong Yang Lecturer in Environmental Science +44 (0)118 378 7750 h.yang4@reading.ac.uk

Research Staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Kamolphat Atsawawaranunt Scientific Programmer and Data Manager  +44 (0)118 378 7146 k.atsawawaranunt@reading.ac.uk
Joanne Beales Landwise Research Project Administrator +44 (0)118 378 7902 j.n.beales@reading.ac.uk
Sharon Burton Project Support Officer + 44 (0)118 378 7323  s.e.burton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Laia Comas-Bru Post-Doctoral Research Assistant in Palaeohydrological Data Analysis  +44 (0)118 378 7146 l.comasbru@reading.ac.uk
Dr Arnaud Duranel Research Co-ordinator - Loddon Observatory + 44 (0)118 378 8137 a.duranel@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Sonia Duval Community Administrator, Whitley for Real Project   s.duval@reading.ac.uk
Ms Angie Elwin Post-Doctoral Research Assistant in Geography   angie.elwin@reading.ac.uk
Dr Andrea Ficchi Post-Doctoral Research Assistant- Extended-range Flood Forecast Researcher  +44 (0)118 378 7586 a.ficchi@reading.ac.uk
Bernice Kuang Post-Doctoral Research Assistant in Quantitative Social Sciences/Demography   b.kuang@reading.ac.uk

Dr Guangqi Li

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 6805

g.li2@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Mason

Senior Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 8740

d.c.mason@reading.ac.uk

Dr Rodolfo Nobrega Research Assistant Ecosystem Modeller   r.nobrega@reading.ac.uk
Dr Trish O'Flynn Post-Doctoral Research Assistant - Social Science   p.m.oflynn@reading.ac.uk
Dr Tobias Pforr Post-Doctoral Research Assistant - Political Economy of Forecast based Financing +44 (0)118 378 7602 t.pforr@reading.ac.uk
Ms Jessica Ponting Knowledge Exchange Manager for the Soil Security Programme +44 (0)118 378 7323 j.g.ponting@reading.ac.uk
Mr Gerard Stewart Communications Co-ordinator +44 (0)118 378 7902 g.w.stewart@reading.ac.uk
Dr Geoff Warren Research Technician +44 (0)118 378 7909 g.p.warren@reading.ac.uk
Ms Azin Wright Post-Doctoral Research Assistant +44 (0)118 378 6557 azin.wright@reading.ac.uk
Dr Xin Shu Post-Doctoral Research Assistant - Soil Biogeochemistry  +44 (0)118 378 7896 x.shu@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Zischka Post-Doctoral Research Assistant - Whitely for Real Project   lorna.zischka@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project

Selam Abebe s.abebe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Operationalizing the concept of equitable access to sustainable development
Alex Adekanmbi a.a.adekanmbi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Impact of climate change on soil respiration and resilience.
Zainab Aliyu z.o.aliyu@pgr.reading.ac.uk How effective is the Climate Justice Movement (CJM) in sub-Saharan Africa?
Nouf Alshehri n.alshehri@pgr.reading.ac.uk Study Sewerage Network Pollution in the East Coast of Saudi Arabia.
Betty Amponsah-Doku b.amponsah-doku@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Investigating the contribution of abiotic stresses to the Ghanaian cocoa yield gap.
Dedy Antony d.antony@pgr.reading.ac.uk Factors affecting soil carbon storage at depth in agricultural systems in the UK.
Prima Anugerahanti p.anugerahanti@pgr.reading.ac.uk A marine biogeochemical model with explicit representation of phytoplankton functional types.
Maureen Anyango Wanzala m.a.wanzala@pgr.reading.ac.uk Assessment of the potential and applicability of the seamless seasonal to sub seasonal flood ris kat river Nzioa Basin in Western Kenya.
Louise Arnal  l.l.s.arnal@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Seasonal  hydrological forecasting over Europe: prospects and applications. 
Edward Baker e.j.baker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing soil health indicators to inform land management decisions and increase crop yield and quality.
James Bishop j.t.bishop@pgr.reading.ac.uk Quantifying the effectiveness of natural flood management in lowland catchments.
Robin Boyd  r.boyd@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Individual-based Model of North Sea Fish using Satellite Remote Sensing.
Michelle Brooks  m.m.s.brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Belonging: perspectives of belonging amongst women for whom Islam is a significant influence. 
Mercio Cerbaro m.c.cerbaro@pgr.reading.ac.uk An analysis of the role of satellite-based information in the management of forests.
Irene Christianus i.christianus@pgr.reading.ac.uk The urban ecology of insects.

Brian Chirambo

b.chirambo@pgr.reading.ac.uk

UN-REDD+ implementation process in Zambia. 

Francesca Church

f.h.church@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Preservationism and Development in Rural England 1926-2016: Policy and Practice. 
Philip Coventry  p.coventry@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate Justice within the Multilateral Governance Regime: An Analysis of Discourse and Policy Output. 
Merry Crowson m.r.d.crowson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Capitalising on the Big Data era: establishing a multi-source monitoring framework for England's natural capital assets and flows.

Mark Dobson

m.dobson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Localism and the future of participatory planning. 
Siobhan Dolan s.dolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early warning of flash flood and landslide risk in S Asia
Srujana Donthula   Novel physical and numerical methods for simulating water and heat transfer in land surface models.
Vevila Dornelles v.r.c.dornelles@pgr.reading.ac.uk Gendered geographies of online gaming.
Baktybek Duisebek  b.duisebek@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate change, water resource and agriculture in Kazakhstan. 
Idegbe Ebereonwu  i.i.ebereonwu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Strategic Environmental Assessment in Nigeria's Energy Sector.
Angie Elwin  a.m.elwin@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Enhancing social and ecological mangrove resilience in shrimp farming communities. 

Nerea Ferrando

n.ferrandojorge@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Evaluating the impact of land management on urban trees using citizen science.
Eleanor Fletcher e.fletcher2@pgr.reading.ac.uk Exploring young refugees' experiences of resettlement and care in the UK.
Henny Folorunso  h.folorunso@pgr.reading.ac.uk  How do earthworms and soil microbial communities interact to determine the fate of organic matter amendments to soil? 

Anna Freeman

a.freemanneemalyavkina@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Why is knowledge of environmental factors insufficient to predict river grazing phytoplankton blooms? A study of the role of phytoplankton and predatory grazing. 
Eleni Geropanagioti mb019623@reading.ac.uk Dissolved organic matter in wetlands: distribution, chemical quality and controls on metal toxicity.
Jessica Goodenough j.l.goodenough@pgr.reading.ac.uk Citizen science in the global South: effects on participation in urban agriculture in Rio de Janeiro's informal settlements.
Helen Griffith h.v.griffith@pgr.reading.ac.uk Atmospheric rivers and the land surface - drivers of extreme floods.

Jo Hamilton

e.j.hamilton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Emotional Methodologies for Climate Change Action: towards an understanding of emotion in NGO-public engagements. 
Josie Handley j.n.handley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Testing the resilience of agricultural systems to human activities and climate change in the Peruvian Andes.
Charlotte Hawkins c.e.hawkins@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Developing optical methods for catchment to protect drinking water. 
James Hill james.hill@pgr.reading.ac.uk Millennial-style history of Amazon Forest dynamics.
Md. Sazzad Hossain mdsazzad.hossain@pgr.reading.ac.uk Extended range hydrometeorological forecasting for improved flood early warning in Bangladesh to supporting earlier flood preparedness in Bangladesh
Mohammad Badsha Hossain   Family planning in Bangladesh: implementation and health impact.

Ben Jones

b.m.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Quantifying and understanding uptake of plant protection products from soil into plants. 

Noor Jalilah Binti Jumaat 

n.j.b.jumaat@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Effectiveness of Management Strategies in Reducing Visitor Impacts at National Parks: A Comparative Study on Malaysia and the United Kingdom.
Prakash Khanal p.khanal@pgr.reading.ac.uk Lives and Livelihood Experiences of Transnational Nepali Migrants in the UK.

Lee Kyung-Kun

k.k.lee@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Global Climate Governance and the Political Economy of CDP.  

Kirsten Lees

k.j.lees@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Measuring peatland carbon sequestration and emissions by remote sensing. 

David Macdonald

d.macdonald@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Groundwater flows in an urbanised floodplain and implications for environmental management. 

Sabine Mayeux

s.mayeux@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Food Justice in the City: Austerity, Citizenship and Creative Urban Space. 

Aliki McDonald

aliki.mcdonald@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Widening Participation in Higher Education - the Role of Parents.

Phiala Mehring

phiala.mehring@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Understanding and surmounting the barriers inhibiting the implementation of Natural Flood Risk Management. 
Faith Mitheu  f.k.mitheu@pgr.reading.ac.uk A model for impact-based flood early warning in Uganda.

Diego Molina Franco

d.f.ramirezguerrero@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Floristic miscegenation in the citizen's bodies and the urban landscape in Colombia. 
Alice Mpofu-Coles a.mpofu-coles@pgr.reading.ac.uk Identity, Transnationalism and Resilience Among the Young Zimbabwean Diaspora in UK.
Anastasia Ngenyi a.ngenyi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Land-use planning, alternative livelihood and current approach to biodiversity conservation in the Congo Basin, Central Africa.
Callum Nolan  callum.nolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk  A Political Ecology of Oil and Climate Change in Cape Three Points, Ghana.. 
Chinonso Ogbuagu chinonsochukwuma.ogbuagu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Remediation of contaminated field soils using biochar
Sarah Parker s.parker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reconstruction of monsoon dynamics during the Holocene using speleothem and lake-level data and model simulations.
Roweena Patel r.patel@pgr.reading.ac.uk Energy transfer in marine ecosystems based on phytoplankton size structure from satellite remote sensing.
Ayla Paul a.paul@pgr.reading.ac.uk Provenance, authenticity & traceability of UK Honey: enhancing consumer confidence for a sustainable industry.
Fatima Pillosu f.m.pillosu@pgr.reading.ac.uk Statistical analysis of ECMWF Ensemble to improve rainfall inputs in real-time flood forecasting systems.

Heather Plumpton

h.plumpton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Amazonia and the 6K drought. 
Jessica Ponting jessica.ponting@pgr.reading.ac.uk Impact of extreme rainfall events on the mobility of potentially toxic elements in floodplains.
Shahrina Rahman s.rahman@pgr.reading.ac.uk Enhancing social resilience and adaptation to climate change: a case study of disabled people in Southern Bangladesh.
David Richardson d.s.richardson@pgr.reading.ac.uk  

Harriet Robson

h.k.robson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Do competitive plant x plant interactions impact rhizosphere microbial community structure and function? 
Susan Rodgers susan.rodgers@pgr.reading.ac.uk Can Vetiver (Chrysopogon zizanioides), a tropic grass, be a viable cost-effective solution for Diffuse Water Pollution in the UK?

Nathan Salvidge

n.salvidge@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Precarious lifescapes and informality: an urban gender and generational analysis.
Raennon Sinclair r.m.sinclair@pgr.reading.ac.uk River Macrophyte Succession Under Multiple Stresses.

Richard Smith

r.smith3@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Amazonia under mid-Holocene drought. 

Marijke Struijk

m.struijk@pgr.reading.ac.uk

How can we make better use of crop residues? 

Victoria Struthers

v.l.struthers@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Exploring the role of deadwood in the forest carbon cycle. 
Saule Suleimenova s.suleimenova@pgr.reading.ac.uk Adaptation of Water Use in Agriculture to Climate Change in South-eastern Kazakhstan.
Daniel Teeling d.l.a.teeling@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Quantifying responses to abrupt climate change in the Andes, South America: empirical data and model synergies.

Fanen Terdoo

hz811462@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Assessing vulnerability and adaptation of rice value chains to multiple, combined pressures in Benue State, Nigeria.
Sofia Theofanidi sofia.theofanidi@pgr.reading.ac.uk Improving and evaluating flood forecasting models for improved flood resilience from local to global scales.

Sarah Thoma

s.e.thoma@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Examining the relationship between environmental and societal change during the past 1000 years. 

Patrick Thomson

p.g.thomson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Health impacts of intermittent water supply in rural Africa. 
Rachael Thornley r.h.thornley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Using Sentinel satellite remote sensing data to monitor the state of grasslands across a range of management intensities.
Helen Titley h.a.titley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Global flood predictability, early warning and the communication of probabilistic forecasts.
Jamie Towner  j.towner@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Climate variability and extended-range flood forecasting for the Peruvian Amazon. 
Mark Turner m.g.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk Impacts of rapid climate change on vegetation dynamics and biodiversity
Daniel Waite  d.b.waite@pgr.reading.ac.uk  A study of the Mechanics, Dynamics, Positions, Roles and Influences of the AGN and AILAC Blocs in the UNFCCC Climate Negotiations. 
Oliver Wilson  oliver.wilson@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Assessing the resilience of Brazil's iconic Araucaria forest to past and future climate change. 
Azin Wright  a.wright@pgr.reading.ac.uk  The effect of land surface hydrological process representation (paramaterization and parameter uncertainty) on drought prediction, at a range of spatio-temporal scales. 

Yoshie Yageta

y.yageta@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Evaluation of farmers' indigenous knowledge about soil to maintain crop productivity under soil diversity. 
Hannah Young h.r.parker@pgr.reading.ac.uk Attributing extreme events in Africa to climate change: Science, policy and practice.

Ervin Zsoter

e.zsoter@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Understanding global flood hazard climatology for improved early flood warning. 

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor Brian Alloway

Emeritus Professor

b.j.alloway@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Max Coleman

Emeritus Professor

m.l.coleman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Brian Goodall

Emeritus Professor

b.goodall@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Stephen Nortcliff

Emeritus Professor

s.nortcliff@reading.ac.uk

Professor Richard Skeffington Emeritus Professor r.a.skeffington@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor Paul Whitehead

Emeritus Professor

p.g.whitehead@reading.ac.uk

Professor Alan Wild

Emeritus Professor

Professor Peter Worsley

Emeritus Professor

p.worsley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Paul Bardos

Visiting Professor

r.p.bardos@reading.ac.uk

Professor Simon Dadson Visiting Professor  
Professor Penny Hirsch Visiting Professor  
Professor Jane McCarthy Visiting Professor  

Professor Andy Moffat

Visiting Professor

a.j.moffat@reading.ac.uk

Professor Margaret Oliver Visiting Professor

m.a.oliver@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sophie Bowlby

Visiting Research fellow

s.r.bowlby@reading.ac.uk

Dr Macarena Cardenas Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr James Ormond

Visiting Research Fellow

 

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top