Food Law News - UK - 2000

2 March 2000: FOOD STANDARDS AGENCY - Further Appointments To The Board Of The Food Standards Agency

DH Press Release (2000/0126), 2 March 2000

Further Appointments To The Board Of The Food Standards Agency

A further eight appointments to the Board of the Food Standards Agency (FSA) were announced today by Alan Milburn, Secretary of State for Health, bringing the total number of Board members - including the Board member for Northern Ireland - to 14.

The latest appointments take immediate effect. The Agency is due to be established formally on 1st April, coming into operation on Monday 3rd April.

Mr Milburn announced in January the appointments of the FSA Chairman (Professor Sir John Krebs); his Deputy (Ms Suzi Leather), and the Chief Executive (Mr Geoffrey Podger).

At the same time, the appointments were announced of Professor Sir John Arbuthnott as Chairman-Designate of the Scottish Food Advisory Committee and an FSA Board member for Scotland; Mr Michael Gibson as an FSA Board member for Scotland, and Mrs Ann Hemingway as the FSA's Board member for Wales.

The DHSSPS in Northern Ireland announced earlier this month that the FSA Board member for Northern Ireland will be Mr Michael Walker, a public analyst and a member of the General Consumer Council. Mr Walker is also a member of the North/South Food Safety Promotion Board, set up on an all-island basis under the Good Friday Agreement.

The eight appointees announced today are:

The Agency, to be established under the Food Standards Act 1999, will take an overview of food safety and standards across the whole food chain, from farm to fork, with the main aim of protecting public health in relation to food.

To go to current UK Food Law News page,
click here.
To go to main Food Law Index page, click here.