Food Law News - EU - 2006

EFSA Press release, 12 September 2006

EFSA - Inaugural meeting of EFSA’s new Management Board

Following the renewal of the European Food Safety Authority’s (EFSA) Management Board in June 2006, the Board held its inaugural meeting today in Parma. Members elected Patrick Wall as Chair and Diána Bánáti and Deirdre Hutton as vice-Chairs.

Following an update on EFSA’s activities by the new Executive Director, Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle, the Board approved the renewal of the mandate of EFSA’s Stakeholder Consultative Platform and discussed the Authority’s future strategic priorities and communications strategy.

Commenting on this first meeting, the newly elected Chair, Patrick Wall, affirmed: “Board members look forward to the challenges ahead and to supporting and guiding EFSA to achieve its aim to enhance consumer protection. EFSA is a phenomenal resource for all EU citizens and it is an honour to be elected chair and help contribute to the next phase.”

The Board welcomed the conclusions arising from EFSA’s external evaluation, adopted by the previous Management Board on 30 June 2006, and which will serve as basis for EFSA’s future development. Members requested that EFSA’s progress in achieving these objectives be reviewed on a twice-yearly basis.

Members agreed on a renewed mandate of three years for the EFSA Stakeholder Consultative Platform, thereby confirming the establishment of the Platform as a consultative body and forum for exchange and discussion between the Authority and its stakeholders.

The Board also reviewed EFSA’s Communications strategy and plans in light of its recommendations to enhance the impact and effectiveness of EFSA Communications arising from EFSA’s external evaluation.

Background points

Members of the EFSA Management Board appointed in June 2006 for a four-year term:

The appointments of Peter Gæmelke, Bart Sangster and Roland Vaxelaire are a renewal of their previous mandate as they were members of the first EFSA Board established in 2002.

Members of the EFSA Management Board in place since 2002 and who will remain in function until 30 June 2008:

For more information see:

Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle resigned from the Board on 20th June 2006 when she took up her position as EFSA’s new Executive Director, leaving a vacancy. She was member of the Board and one of the two vice-Chairs. In order to select the 15th member of EFSA’s Board to fill the vacancy created by Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle’s resignation, the European Commission has recently launched a call for applications for a position on the EFSA Management Board. For more information regarding the process consult:

More information on the partial renewal of the Authority’s Management Board is available at:

Information on the appointment of Catherine Geslain-Lanéelle, EFSA’s Executive Director can be found at:

To go to main Foodlaw-Reading Index page, .