About us

The Faculty incorporates a broad range of subject areas.  Our six Schools span teaching and research in areas as varied as Fine Art; History of Art; Film, Theatre and Television; Typography; Classics; History; Philosophy; English Language; Applied Linguistics; English Literature; Modern Languages; European Studies; Politics and International Relations; Economics; Law; and Education. 

Interdisciplinary links are encouraged and fostered by various Research Centres and Themes, and underpinned by Archives and Collections including the world famous Samuel Beckett Collection.  Excellence in teaching and research has been recognised by such awards as the prestigious Queen's Anniversary Prize (awarded to the Department of Typography).

The Faculty Office

The Faculty Office is managed jointly with the Faculty of Life Sciences and the Faculty of Science and provides administrative support for each Faculty's Dean, Associate Deans (Teaching and Learning) and for academic staff. Its main functions are:

  • Degree transfers (Undergraduate Parts 2 and 3)
  • Module records and module enrolment
  • Extenuating circumstances
  • Management of Faculty Quality Assurance processes and committees
  • Dealing with general enquiries from staff

The Faculty Office is based in Room 210, Carrington building on the Whiteknights campus, postal address:
Joint Faculties Office
Carrington Building
University of Reading
Reading, RG6 6UA

The Dean of the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Science is Professor G. Hugo Tucker.

The Associate Deans (Teaching and Learning) are (Arts and Humanities) and Dr David Carter (Social Science).




Things to do now

Page navigation

See also


Search Form

A-Z lists