National Teaching Fellowship Scheme


The Higher Education Academy runs the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme (NTFS) and each year up to 55 awards are made to recognise individual excellence. The purpose of the National Teaching Fellowship Scheme is to raise the profile of learning and teaching, recognise and celebrate individuals who make an outstanding impact on the student learning experience, and provide a national focus for institutional teaching and learning schemes. Eligible HE and FE institutions are invited to nominate up to three individual members of staff who can demonstrate excellence in supporting the student learning experience in higher and further education.

From 2014-15 the normal expectation will be that the University nominees for the NTFS will be recognised at D3, Senior Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (SFHEA). Guidance for Staff on the HESA Codes for Teaching Qualifications.

If you have any queries or require further information on the University's NTFS nominee selection process please contact

For more information on the NTFS visit the HEA website.

Read more about University of Reading staff experiences of the NTFS on our page What it means to be a National Teaching Fellow.

2017 NTFS Winners

The University of Reading is delighted to announce that its latest National Teaching Fellows are Professor Elizabeth McCrum and Dr Matthew Nicholls


Page navigation


Search Form

A-Z lists