Membership List

Below is an alphabetical list of CCR members, with their Departmental affiliation, website and email. Please feel free to contact any member if you would like to discuss their work or the work of the Centre. 

To see a list of members by research theme, please click here.

 

 Name  Affiliation  Research Area  Email Address
  School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Language and Thought, Multilingual Cognition, Language Acquisition, Conceptual Representation, Categorical Perception p.athanasopoulos@reading.ac.uk

Dr Philip Beaman School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Auditory cognition and working memory; cognitive modelling; heuristic decision-making. c.p.beaman@reading.ac.uk
Prof Emma Borg            Department of Philosophy My research interests lie primarily in (i) the semantics/pragmatics border in natural language and (ii) the nature of mindreading/embodied cognition. e.g.n.borg@reading.ac.uk
Dr Arpita Bose School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Language impairments following brain damage in adults (e.g., Aphasia), Reading and writing disorders following brain damage, Bilingual language processing a.bose@reading.ac.uk
Dr Laurie Butler School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences         Interests in memory and ageing especially (unconscious) priming effects (including both repetition and behavioural priming) l.t.butler@reading.ac.uk

Dr Bhismadev Chakrabarti

School of Psychology and Clinical Language SciencesCentre for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics (CINN)
Empathy, Emotions, Social neuroscience, Autism

b.chakrabarti@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Anastasia Christakou School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences; Centre for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics (CINN)
Decision-making mechanisms, their development and perturbation in psychopathology.  

anastasia.christakou@reading.ac.uk

Prof Judi Ellis School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Intentions, actions & agency; self and memory; future cognition; imagery.  j.a.ellis@reading.ac.uk
 Dr David Field School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences  Representation of space and spatial relations between objects in the parietal lobe. Visual control of actions. Influence of nutrition on visual processing.  d.t.field@reading.ac.uk  
Dr Andrew Glennerster School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences 3D vision in freely moving human observers. Immersive virtual reality as a tool for vision research  

a.glennerster@reading.ac.uk

Jumbly Grindrod Research Student, Department of Philosophy The role of contextual features in linguistic meaning.  jumbly@gmail.com
Dr Nathaniel Hansen  

Department of Philosophy 

Contextualism in philosophy of language, experimental evidence for semantic and pragmatic theories, the meaning of colour terms.  n.d.hansen@reading.ac.uk
School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences; Centre for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics (CINN)
 

The hand, reaching and grasping actions, motor control, mirror neurons, 3D representations of space, multisensory integration, statistics and circular analysis.

 

n.p.holmes@reading.ac.uk

Prof Theo Marinis School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences First and second language acquisition and processing in children and adults, Specific Language Impairment  t.marinis@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lotte Meteyard School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Adult acquired communication difficulties (theory, assessment, intervention), neuroscientific and psychological investigations of semantic representation, comprehension during paragraph/text reading.  l.meteyard@reading.ac.uk
Prof Slawomir Nasuto School of Systems Engineering Embodied and enactive cognition, brain computer interfaces, animals.  s.j.nasuto@reading.ac.uk
Professor John Preston Department of Philosophy I work in philosophy of cognitive science (including computer science), philosophy of mind, and philosophy of perception, and am especially interested in how the thought of Ludwig Wittgenstein and Alan Turing bears on these subjects.  j.m.preston@reading.ac.uk
Dr Etienne Roesch Centre for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics (CINN); School of Systems Engineering    e.b.roesch@reading.ac.uk
Professor Jason Rothman School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Child and adult language acquisition, bilingualism and multilingualism, language and cognition, heritage language acquisition  j.rothman@reading.ac.uk
Prof Doug Saddy School of Psychology and Clinical Language SciencesCentre for Integrative Neuroscience and Neurodynamics (CINN)
   j.d.saddy@reading.ac.uk
Dr Graham Schafer School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences Cognitive development Language development Lexical processing  g.w.schafer@reading.ac.uk
Dr Severin Schroeder Department of Philosophy Philosophy of Mind & Psychology, Philosophy of Language, Wittgenstein, Aesthetics  s.j.schroeder@reading.ac.uk
Dr James Stazicker Department of Philosophy James's research is primarily in the philosophy of mind and philosophy of psychology. His current projects are about attention, perceptual experience and perceptual knowledge. j.stazicker@reading.ac.uk  
Prof Jeanine Treffers-Daller Professor of Second Language Education, the Institute of Education Multilingualism, literacy, vocabulary, language dominance in bilinguals  

j.c.treffers-daller@reading.ac.uk 

Prof Ianthi Maria Tsimpli  CeLM Language, Bilingualism, Multilingualism, Cognition, Language learning in exceptional circumstances I.M.Tsimpli@reading.ac.uk, imt@enl.auth.gr
Prof Kevin Warwick School of Systems Engineering Philosophy of AI, Turing Test, Mind  k.warwick@reading.ac.uk

External Members

Daisy Dixon, Research Student, Philosophy Department, Cambridge University (dd426@cam.ac.uk)

James Kirkpatrick, Research Student, Philosophy Department, Oxford University

Daniel Yon, Research Student, Psychology Department, Birkbeck University (danieljamesyon@gmail.com)

Things to do now

If you would like to become a member of CCR, please email Sukh Thiara (s.thiara@reading.ac.uk) with the following details:

  • Name
  • Affiliation
  • Short description of your research interests 
  • Email and website

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists