Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know us

    Our Department is home to many globally recognised specialists

Meet the team

The Department of Classics at Reading is composed of welcoming and passionate leaders in our fields. We are very happy to discuss any aspects of our courses and research with you.

Academic staff

Name

Position and

responsibilities

Research

interests

Email

Dr Emma Aston

Associate Professor
Head of Department

Greek religion
Mythology
Thessaly
Ethnos-identity
Animals in ancient thought

e.m.m.aston@reading.ac.uk

Mrs Jackie Baines

Teaching Fellow
Admissions Tutor
Languages Coordinator
Language Teachers' CoP

Latin language

j.baines@reading.ac.uk

Dr David Carter

Professor
Head of ISLI

Greek drama
Greek political thought

d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk

Professor Eleanor Dickey

Professor
International Affairs (including OS students)

Greek and Latin languages
Linguistics
Literature
Ancient education

e.dickey@reading.ac.uk

Professor Timothy Duff

Professor
Director of Postgraduate Research

Plutarch
Historiography
Biography
Greek prose literature
Greek history

t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lucy Fletcher

Teaching Fellow
MA Co-ordinator

 

l.e.fletcher@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andreas Gavrielatos

Teaching Fellow
Dissertations Coordinator
Library Liaison

  a.gavrielatos@reading.ac.uk

Professor Barbara Goff

Professor
Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes (spring and summer terms)
Alumni

Greek tragedy and reception
Postcolonial Classics

b.e.goff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Christa Gray

Lecturer Department Director of Teaching and Learning

Early Christian Latin

c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jack Hanson

British Academy Postdoctoral Fellow

Urbanism, computational and quantitative approaches to the humanities and social sciences

j.w.hanson@reading.ac.uk

Professor Katherine Harloe

Professor
Exams Officer

Reception studies
History of scholarship
Neoclassicism
Philhellenism
Political thought

k.c.harloe@reading.ac.uk

Professor Rachel Mairs

Professor of Classical and Near Eastern Studies
From January 2020, Research Division Leader

On leave 2018-Spring 2020

Ethnic identity
Multilingualism
Hellenistic history
Graeco-Roman Egypt
Bactria
Papyrology
Epigraphy

r.mairs@reading.ac.uk

Professor Annalisa Marzano

Professor
On leave 2016-20

Ancient economy
Trade
Roman villas
Roman aquaculture
Italic Hercules

a.marzano@reading.ac.uk

Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou

Associate Professor
Departmental Director of Academic Tutoring

Late antiquity
Early Islam
Byzantium
Economy and society
Ancient multilingualism
Papyrology
Greek epigraphy

a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk

Professor Ian Rutherford

Professor

Anatolia
Egypt
Religion
Pilgrimage
Theoria
Transculturalism
Origins
Chorality
Greek song

i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk

Professor Amy Smith

Professor
Curator (Ure Museum)
IT CoP

Ancient art
Iconography
Material culture
Art and society
Greek vase painting
Museum studies
Digital Classics

a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

Visiting Fellow in Modern Greek in the Centre for Hellenic Studies

Modern and ancient Greek language and literature
Theatre and drama

d.i.tzanidaki@reading.ac.uk

 Dr Signe Barfoed Research Council of Norway Postdoctoral Fellow

Greek cult and religion
Ancient Greek pottery
Material culture
Aitolia
Ethnos-identity
Mythology
Memory and ritual        Museum studies

s.barfoed@reading.ac.uk

Support Staff

 Name

 Position

 Email

 Nathan Shaw and Jemima Stevens

 Student Support Co-Ordinator

 ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Ure Museum

 Name

Position

Email 

 Jayne Holly

 Assistant Curator

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

jayne.holly@reading.ac.uk

Claudina Romero

 Education Officer

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

c.romeromayorga@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus/Honorary staff

 Name

Position 

Email 

Professor Jane Gardner

 Professor Emeritus

j.f.gardner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gill Knight

 Honorary Fellow of the Classics Department

g.r.knight@reading.ac.uk

 Professor Peter Kruschwitz  Visiting Professor  p.kruschwitz@reading.ac.uk

Professor Tessa Rajak

 Professor Emeritus

t.rajak@reading.ac.uk

Graduate Teaching Assistants

 Name Email
 Mauro Serena m.serena@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top