Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know us

    Our Department is home to many globally recognised specialists

Meet the team

The Department of Classics at Reading is composed of welcoming and passionate leaders in our fields. We are very happy to discuss any aspects of our courses and research with you.

Academic staff

 Name

Position and

responsibilities

Research

interests

 Email

Dr Emma Aston

Associate Professor

Head of Department

Greek religion

Mythology

Thessaly

Ethnos-identity

Animals in ancient thought

e.m.m.aston@reading.ac.uk                                                                                        

Mrs Jackie Baines

Teaching Fellow

Admissions Tutor

Languages Coordinator 

Language Teachers' CoP

Latin language

j.baines@reading.ac.uk

 

 

 

Dr David Carter  

Associate Professor

Head of ISLI

 

Greek drama

Greek political thought

d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk      

Professor Eleanor Dickey

Professor International Affairs (including OS students)

Greek and Latin languages

Linguistics

Literature

Ancient education

e.dickey@reading.ac.uk

Professor Timothy Duff

Professor

Director of Postgraduate Research

 

 

Plutarch

Historiography

Biography

Greek prose literature

Greek history

t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andreas Gavrielatos

Teaching Fellow

Dissertations Coordinator

Library Liaison and International Affairs (including OS students)

  a.gavrielatos@reading.ac.uk

Professor Barbara Goff

Professor

Director of Teaching and Learning 

Careers /Alumni

Greek tragedy and reception

Postcolonial Classics

b.e.goff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Christa Gray

Assistant Professor

Part 1 Co-ordinator

Early Christian Latin

c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lucy Fletcher

Teaching Fellow

Departmental Director of Academic Tutoring

 

 

l.e.fletcher@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Katherine Harloe

Associate Professor

Athena SWAN Champion

On leave 2018-19

Reception studies

History of scholarship

Neoclassicism

Philhellenism

Political thought

k.c.harloe@reading.ac.uk

Professor Peter Kruschwitz

Professor

On leave Autumn 2018

Acting Research Division Leader from Spring 2019

UoA Lead

Latin linguistics

Roman drama

Roman song and metre

Roman epigraphy

p.kruschwitz@reading.ac.uk

Dr Rachel Mairs

Associate Professor of Classical and Near Eastern Studies

On leave 2018-Spring 2020

Ethnic identity

Multilingualism

Hellenistic history

Graeco-Roman Egypt

Bactria

Papyrology

Epigraphy 

 

r.mairs@reading.ac.uk

Professor Annalisa Marzano

Professor

On leave 2016-19

Ancient economy

Trade

Roman villas

Roman aquaculture 

Italic Hercules

a.marzano@reading.ac.uk

Professor Matthew Nicholls

School Director of Teaching and Learning

Director of Open Online Courses

Roman history

Architecture

Ancient books and libraries

Digital reconstruction

m.c.nicholls@reading.ac.uk

Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou

Associate Professor

Examination Officer

 

Late antiquity

Early Islam

Byzantium

Economy and society

Ancient multilingualism

Papyrology

Greek epigraphy

a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk

Professor Ian Rutherford

Professor

Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes

Research Seminar Organiser

 

Anatolia

Egypt

Religion

Pilgrimage

Theoria

Transculturalism

Origins

Chorality

Greek song

i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk

Professor Amy Smith

Professor

Curator (Ure Museum)

IT CoP

 

Ancient art

Iconography

Material culture

Art and society

Greek vase painting

Museum studies

Digital Classics

a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

Visiting Fellow in Modern Greek in the Centre for Hellenic Studies

Modern and ancient Greek language and literature

Theatre and drama

d.i.tzanidaki@reading.ac.uk

Support Staff

 Name

 Position

 Email

 Sally Davey

 Student Support Co-Ordinator

 ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Ure Museum

 Name

Position

Email 

 Jayne Holly

 Assistant Curator

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

jayne.holly@reading.ac.uk

Claudina Romero

 Education Officer

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

c.romeromayorga@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus/Honorary staff

 Name

Position 

Email 

Professor Jane Gardner

 Professor Emeritus

j.f.gardner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gill Knight

 Honorary Fellow of the Classics Department

g.r.knight@reading.ac.uk

Professor Tessa Rajak

 Professor Emeritus

t.rajak@reading.ac.uk

Graduate Teaching Assistants

 Name Email
 Mauro Serena m.serena@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top