Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know us

    Our Department is home to many globally recognised specialists

Meet the team

The Department of Classics at Reading is composed of welcoming and passionate leaders in our fields. We are very happy to discuss any aspects of our courses and research with you.

Academic staff

 Name

Position and

responsibilities

Research

interests

 Email

Dr Emma Aston

Associate Professor

Head of Department

Greek religion

Mythology

Thessaly

Ethnos-identity animals in ancient thought

e.m.m.aston@reading.ac.uk                                                                                        

Mrs Jackie Baines

Teaching Fellow

Admissions Tutor

Languages Coordinator 

Latin language

 j.baines@reading.ac.uk

 

 

 

 Dr David Carter  

Associate Professor

Head of ISLI

 

Greek drama

Greek political thought

 d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk      

Professor Eleanor Dickey

On leave 2017-18

Greek and Latin languages

Linguistics

Literature

Ancient education

e.dickey@reading.ac.uk

Professor Timothy Duff

Professor

Director of Postgraduate Research

Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes (Autumn 2017)

On leave Spring 2018

Plutarch

Historiography

Biography

Greek prose literature

Greek history

t.e.duff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Andreas Gavrielatos

Teaching Fellow

Dissertations Coordinator and Outreach

(Autumn Term 2017)

   

Professor Barbara Goff

Professor

Director of Teaching and Learning 

Greek tragedy and reception

Postcolonial Classics

b.e.goff@reading.ac.uk

Dr Christa Gray

Assistant Professor

On leave 2016-18 

Early Christian Latin

c.m.gray@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lucy Fletcher

Teaching Fellow

Dissertation Coordinator

Library Liaison and International Affairs (including OS students)

 

l.e.fletcher@reading.ac.uk

 

Dr Katherine Harloe

Associate Professor

Director of Taught Postgraduate Programmes

Athena SWAN Champion

On leave Autumn 2017

Reception studies

History of scholarship

Neoclassicism

Philhellenism

Political thought

k.c.harloe@reading.ac.uk

Professor Peter Kruschwitz

Professor

Senior Tutor Spring 2018

On leave Autumn 2017

Latin linguistics

Roman drama

Roman song and metre

Roman epigraphy

p.kruschwitz@reading.ac.uk 

Dr Rachel Mairs

Associate Professor of Classical and Near Eastern Studies

Research Division Leader, Research Seminars

Ethnic identity

Multilingualism

Hellenistic history

Graeco-Roman Egypt

Bactria

Papyrology

Epigraphy 

 

r.mairs@reading.ac.uk 

Professor Annalisa Marzano

Professor

On leave 2016-19

Ancient economy

Trade

Roman villas

Roman aquaculture 

Italic Hercules

a.marzano@reading.ac.uk 

Dr Matthew Nicholls

School Director of Teaching and Learning

Director of Open Online Courses

Roman history

Architecture

Ancient books and libraries

Digital reconstruction

 m.c.nicholls@reading.ac.uk

Dr Arietta Papaconstantinou

Associate Professor

Senior Tutor(Autumn 2017)

Exams officer (Autumn-Spring 2017-18)

On leave Summer 2018

Late antiquity

Early Islam

Byzantium

Economy and society

Ancient multilingualism

Papyrology

Greek epigraphy

a.s.papaconstantinou@reading.ac.uk 

Professor Karla Pollmann

Professor

Head of School 

Classical to Late Antiquity

Patristics

History of exegesis and hermeneutics

The thought of Augustine of Hippo and its reception

 k.f.l.pollmann@reading.ac.uk

Professor Ian Rutherford

Professor

On leave 2017-18

 

Anatolia

Egypt

Religion

Pilgrimage

Theoria

Transculturalism

Origins

Chorality

Greek song

 i.c.rutherford@reading.ac.uk

Professor Amy Smith

Professor

Curator (Ure Museum)

Outreach Officer

IT CoP

On leave Autmun 2017 

Ancient art

Iconography

Material culture

Art and society

Greek vase painting

Museum studies

Digital Classics

 a.c.smith@reading.ac.uk

Dr Dimitra Tzanidaki-Kreps

Visiting Fellow in Modern Greek in the Centre for Hellenic Studies

Teaching Fellow

International Affairs(incl. OS students) 

Placement Officer

Outreach Officer (Autumn 2017)

Modern and ancient Greek language and literature

Theatre and drama

 

Support Staff

 Name

 Position

 Email

 Mrs Anne Whitbread

 Programme Manager

 classics-admin@reading.ac.uk

 Mr Patrick Holmes

 Student Support Co-Ordinator

 ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

 Mrs Karon Curran

 Student Support Co-Ordinator

 ssc.hum@reading.ac.uk

Ure Museum

 Name

Position

Email 

 Jayne Holly-Wait

 Assistant Curator

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

j.n.holly-wait@reading.ac.uk

Claudina Romero

 Education Officer

ure.education@reading.ac.uk

c.romeromayorga@reading.ac.uk

Emeritus/Honorary staff

 Name

Position 

Email 

Professor Jane Gardner

 Professor Emeritus

 j.f.gardner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gill Knight

 Honorary Fellow of the Classics Department

 g.r.knight@reading.ac.uk

Professor Tessa Rajak

 Professor Emeritus

 t.rajak@reading.ac.uk

Graduate Teaching Assistants

 Name Email
 Mauro Serena  m.serena@reading.ac.uk
 Lorenzo Livorsi  l.livorsi@reading.ac.uk

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top