Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Get to know our staff

    We are ready to work with you

Meet the team

Head of Department

Dr John McKendrick

Academic staff

Name and position Research and other interests
Professor Matthew Almond
Professor of Chemistry Education
Professor in Inorganic Chemistry
National Teaching Fellow

Infrared Spectroscopy, Archaeometry, Environmental Analysis, Forensic Analysis, Analytical Chemistry.

Dr Livia Bartok-Partay

Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow
Athena SWAN Representative

Computer simulation and modelling, materials science, phase diagrams.
Dr Roger Bennett
Associate Professor in Nanostructured Surfaces
Part 3 Year Tutor
Surface science, ultra-thin films, transition metal oxides, heterogeneous catalysis, nanoparticles, clusters, synchrotron science.
Dr Geoff Brown
Lecturer in NMR Spectroscopy
Part 2 Year Tutor
NMR spectroscopy, Natural products, Biosynthesis, Origin of life.
Professor Christine Cardin
Professor of Crystallography
Athena SWAN Rep
Crystallography and structure determination, DNA, nucleic acids, cancer, macromolecular structure, polymorphism.
Dr Ann Chippindale
Associate Professor in Solid-State Chemistry
Department Director of Outreach
Microporous materials, synthesis of solids with interesting chemical and physical properties, transition-metal cyanides, open-framework metal phosphates, single-crystal X-ray diffraction.
Professor Howard Colquhoun
Professor of Materials Chemistry
Head of the Materials Chemistry Group
Materials, Polymers, Membranes, Supramolecular, Nanoscience.
Dr Fiona Coomer
Teaching Fellow 
Magnetic materials, solid state chemistry, functional materials, structure-property relationships, materials characterisation
Professor Rainer Cramer
Professor of Mass Spectrometry & Bioanalytical Sciences
Head of Mass Spectrometry and Proteomics
Mass spectrometry, proteomics, clinical diagnostics, MALDI, analytical chemistry, protein analysis, systems biology.
Dr Philippa Cranwell
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
University Teaching Fellow
Synthesis, catalysis, natural products, synthetic methodology, flow chemistry, anion transport
Dr Fred Davis
Associate Professor in Organic Chemistry
The synthesis of polymeric materials with unusual properties. Spectral filters, their degradation and stability. Novel supercapacitors.
Dr Joanne Elliott
Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry
Industrial Placements, Careers and Employability Officer
SCFP Athena SWAN officer
Lyotropic liquid crystals, Liquid crystal templating, Hydrodynamic modulation voltammetry.
Dr Ricardo Grau-Crespo
Lecturer in Physical Chemistry
Computational materials science.
Professor Ian Hamley
Diamond Professor of Physical Chemistry
Head of Chemistry for Life & Environment
Soft Matter, Self-Assembly, Nanotechnology, Copolymers, Peptides.
Professor Frantisek Hartl
Professor of Inorganic Chemistry
Head of Molecular Chemistry
Spectroelectrochemistry – application and development of new cells. Unusual oxidation states of organometallic compounds. Photoinduced electron and energy transfer. Molecular wires. Photo- and redox catalysis. Activation of carbon dioxide via proton coupled electron transfer.
Professor Laurence Harwood
Professor of Organic Chemistry
Director of Chemical Analysis Facility
Total synthesis, Natural products, Synthetic methodology, pericyclic reactions, chiral morpholinones, peptides, minor actinide selective ligands.
Professor Wayne Hayes
Professor of Polymer Chemistry
Self-assembled Polymers, Dendrimers and Hyperbranched Polymers, Polymer Synthesis.
Professor Georg Held
Professor of Surface Chemistry
Diamond Fellow
Structures, electronic properties and chemistry of solid surfaces. Chiral Surface Systems. Metal-water interfaces. X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure Spectroscopy (NEXAFS), LEED.
Dr Peiyi Li
International Support Tutor
Dr Kevin Lovelock 
Royal Society University Research Fellow
X-ray spectroscopy, electronic properties and chemistry of liquids, Lewis acids and bases, ionic liquids, synchrotron science 
Dr John McKendrick
Head of Department
Associate Professor in Bio-Organic Chemistry
Deputy Senior Tutor
Deputy Exams Officer
Bio-compatible polymers, Organic synthesis, Natural products, Olefin metathesis, Cationic rearrangements.

Dr David Nutt
Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry
Department Director of Teaching & Learning
University Teaching Fellow

Molecular modelling, molecular dynamics simulations, biophysics, quantummechanics, ice, water, biomineralisation, surface recognition, proteins.
Professor Elizabeth Page
Professor in Chemistry Education
Part 1 Year Tutor
National Teaching Fellow
University Teaching Fellow
Electron diffraction, Gas-phase molecular structure, Education in Chemistry.
Dr Christian Pfrang
Associate Professor of Physical & Atmospheric Chemistry
Erasmus and Study-Abroad Co-ordinator
Academic Lead CAF Molecular Spectroscopy
Examinations Officer
Atmospheric chemistry, atmospheric aerosol, levitation techniques, gas-phase and heterogeneous reaction kinetics.
Professor Anthony Powell
Research Division Lead for Chemistry
Solid-State Chemistry, Functional Materials, Thermoelectric Materials, Structure-Directed Synthesis, Neutron Diffraction, Magnetism, Transport Properties.
Dr Andrew Russell
Senior Tutor
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Deputy Dept Director of Teaching & Learning
Synthesis, Natural Products, Photochemistry, Cycloaddition Reactions, Synthetic Methodology.
Dr Chris Smith
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Synthetic Methodology, Catalysis, Fluorination, Flow Chemistry, Continuous Processing. 
Dr Paz Vaqueiro
Associate Professor in Materials Chemistry 
Director of Postgraduate Studies
Materials, Solid State Chemistry, Thermoelectric Materials, Microporous Solids.

Academic teaching staff

Name and position Teaching role
Dr Silvia Baldanza  International Foundation Year Tutor 
Dr Jenny Eyley International Foundation Year Tutor, Outreach Facilitator: Chemistry for All
Mrs Susan Mayes Principle Investigator: Chemistry For All
Mrs Katie Nuttall Royal Society of Chemistry Education Co-ordinator
Mrs Sally Wade Part 1 Tutor and Sessional Lecturer
Mrs Gail Lydford  Sessional Lecturer

Administrative staff

Name Role
Heather Ferris Executive Support to:
Head of Department and Chemistry
Mrs Barbara Parr
Executive Support to:
Chemistry Research
SCFP Ethics
SCFP Safety Committee
Isaac Wilks  Postgraduate Administrator

Emeritus staff

Name Email
Professor David Cardin
Professor Mike Drew
Professor H. Monty Frey
Professor Ian Mills FRS
Dr Philip Mitchell
Professor David Rice
Professor Robin Walsh

We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top