Staff list

Head of Department

Professor Anthony Powell

 Academic staff

Name and position Research and other interests
Professor Matthew Almond
Professor of Chemistry Education
Professor in
Inorganic Chemistry
National Teaching Fellow
Associate Dean for Teaching & Learning, Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Infrared Spectroscopy, Archaeometry, Environmental Analysis, Forensic Analysis, Analytical Chemistry.
Dr Roger Bennett
Associate Professor in Nanostructured  Surfaces
Part 3 Year Tutor
Surface science, ultra-thin films, transition metal oxides, heterogeneous catalysis, nanoparticles, clusters, synchrotron science.
Dr Geoff Brown
Lecturer in NMR Spectroscopy
Part 2 Year Tutor
NMR spectroscopy, Natural products, Biosynthesis, Origin of life.
Professor Christine Cardin
Professor of Crystallography
Crystallography and structure determination, DNA, nucleic acids, cancer, macromolecular structure, polymorphism.
Dr Ann Chippindale
Associate Professor in Solid-State Chemistry
Deputy Director of Research
Microporous materials, synthesis of solids with interesting chemical and physical properties, transition-metal cyanides, open-framework metal phosphates, single-crystal X-ray diffraction.
Professor Howard Colquhoun
Professor of Materials Chemistry
Head of the Materials Chemistry Group
Materials, Polymers, Membranes, Supramolecular, Nanoscience.
Professor Rainer Cramer
Professor of Mass Spectrometry & Bioanalytical Sciences
Head of Mass Spectrometry and Proteomics
Mass spectrometry, proteomics, clinical diagnostics, MALDI, analytical chemistry, protein analysis, systems biology.

Dr Philippa Cranwell
Teaching Fellow
Deputy Undergraduate Admissions Tutor

Synthesis, catalysis, natural products, synthetic methodology, flow chemistry, anion transport
Dr Fred Davis
Associate Professor in Organic Chemistry
The synthesis of polymeric materials with unusual properties. Spectral filters, their degradation and stability. Novel supercapacitors.

Dr Joanne Elliott
Associate Professor in Physical Chemistry
Industrial Placements Officer, SCFP Athena SWAN officer, Careers and Employability Officer

Lyotropic liquid crystals, Liquid crystal templating, Hydrodynamic modulation voltammetry.
Dr Ricardo Grau-Crespo
Lecturer in Physical Chemistry
 Computational materials science.
Professor Ian Hamley
Diamond Professor of Physical Chemistry
Soft Matter, Self-Assembly, Nanotechnology, Copolymers, Peptides.
Professor Frantisek Hartl
Professor of Inorganic Chemistry
Head of Molecular Chemistry

Spectroelectrochemistry - application and development of new cells. Unusual oxidation states of organometallic compounds. Photoinduced electron and energy transfer. Molecular wires. Photo- and redox catalysis. Activation of carbon dioxide via proton coupled electron transfer

Professor Laurence

Professor of Organic Chemistry
Departmental Director Research and Enterprise
Total synthesis, Natural products, Synthetic methodology, pericyclic reactions, chiral morpholinones, peptides, minor actinide selective ligands.
Professor Wayne Hayes
Professor in Polymer Chemistry
Self-assembled Polymers, Dendrimers and Hyperbranched Polymers, Polymer Synthesis.

Prof Georg Held
Professor of Surface Chemistry
Diamond Fellow

Structures, electronic properties and chemistry of solid surfaces. Chiral Surface Systems. Metal-water interfaces. X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Near Edge X-ray Absorption Fine Structure Spectroscopy (NEXAFS), LEED.

Dr Peiyi Li
International Support Tutor 


Dr John Mckendrick
Associate Professor in Bio-Organic Chemistry
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Department Director of Teaching & Learning
Deputy Senior Tutor

Bio-compatible polymers, Organic synthesis, Natural products, Olefin metathesis, Cationic rearrangements.
Dr David Nutt
Lecturer in Physical Chemistry
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor
Molecular modelling, molecular dynamics simulations, biophysics, quantummechanics, ice, water, biomineralisation, surface recognition, proteins.

Dr Elizabeth Page
Associate Professor in Chemistry Education, Deputy Head of Department, Part 1 Year Tutor, School Director of Outreach and Internationalisation, University Teaching Fellow

Electron diffraction, Gas-phase molecular structure, Education in Chemistry.
Dr Christian Pfrang
Lecturer in Physical Chemistry
Athena SWAN Rep
Atmospheric chemistry, atmospheric aerosol, levitation techniques, gas-phase and heterogeneous reaction kinetics.

Professor Anthony Powell
Head of Department

Dr Andrew Russell
Senior Tutor
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Examinations Officer
Deputy Dept Director of Teaching & Learning
Synthesis, Natural Products, Photochemistry, Cycloaddition Reactions, Synthetic Methodology.

Dr Marco Sacchi
Royal Society University Research Fellow

Computational Chemistry, Self-Assembly, Surface Science
Dr Chris Smith
Lecturer in Organic Chemistry
Synthetic Methodology, Catalysis, Fluorination, Flow Chemistry, Continuous Processing 

Dr Mark Spillman
Teaching Fellow

Crystal structure determination from powder diffraction data, Structure of molecular organic materials in the solid state, Quantitative phase analysis using the Rietveld method, Cloud computing 
Dr Adam Squires
Associate Professor in Biophysics and Materials, Part 4 Year Tutor
Biophysical Chemistry and X-ray scattering.
Dr Paz Vaqueiro
Postgraduate Tutor
Materials, Solid State Chemistry, Thermoelectric Materials, Microporous Solids

Academic Teaching Staff

Name and Position Teaching role
Mrs Penny Bagshaw Teaching Fellow and Sessional Tutor

Dr Silvia Baldanza

International Support Tutor
Mrs Susan Mayes  Project Officer
Mrs Sally Wade Part 1 Tutor and Sessional Lecturer
Dawn Willoughby Lecturer in Statistics, Computer Science and Information Technology
Dr David Wright  IFP Chemistry Tutor

Administrative staff

Name Role
Mrs Judy Butler Secretary to Head of Department and Outreach
Catherine O'Hare
Postgraduate and Research Secretary
Mrs Barbara Parr
Department Secretary, School Health & Safety Administrator/Faculty Outreach Administrator

Emeritus Staff

Name Email
Professor David Cardin
Professor Mike Drew
Professor H. Monty Frey
Professor Ian Mills FRS
Dr Philip Mitchell
Professor David Rice
Professor Robin Walsh


Things to do now

Contact us

Contact Details

  • Tel:
    +44 (0)118 378 8454
  • Fax:
    +44 (0)118 378 6331  
  • Dept of Chemistry
    University of Reading
    Reading, RG6 6AD
  • For Satellite Navigation use the postcode RG6 6UR for the campus

Page navigation


Search Form

A-Z lists