Scientific Archaeology Research Group Postgraduate Students

Some of our recent research degree students and their thesis titles

Anna Rohnbogner (a.j.rohnbogner@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Exploring concepts of romanisation and its impact on child health in late Roman Britain.
Supervised by: Dr Mary LewisDr Hella Eckardt

Aroa Garcia-Suarez (a.garcia- suarez@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Landscape exploitation and settlement networks: a geoarchaeological study of Neolithic Catalhoyuk and Pinarbsi, Central Anatolia, Turkey.
Supervised by: Dr Wendy MatthewsDr Stuart Black

Cecilia Collins (c.r.collins@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Interpreting prevalence rates of maxilliary sinusitis and ear disease in Medieval Iceland: an evaluation of the crania of adult and sub-adult skeletons using computed tomography, microscopy and endoscopy.
Supervised by: Dr Mary Lewis ,  Dr Frank Ruhli (University of Zurich)

Charlotte Scull (c.j.a.scull@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Daily Lives of Religious Women.
Supervised by: Dr Gundula MüldnerProfessor Roberta Gilchrist

Christine Bunting (c.j.bunting@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Quantifying the Heritage Resource Potential of Lowland Wetlands in NW Europe.
Supervised by: Dr Nick BranchDr Steve Robinson

Christopher Speed
Experimental archaeology and the formation processes of the archaeological records: the effects of trampling and soil fauna on geochemical evidence of metalworking.
(Completed: 14/05/2014 )
Supervised by: Professor Martin Bell

Daniel Young
Holocene climate change in Southern Ireland.
Supervised by: Dr Nick BranchDr Stuart Black

Georgia Koromila (g.koromila@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
A geoarchaeological study of Neolithic open spaces in N. Greece.
Supervised by: Dr Wendy MatthewsProfessor Martin Bell

Ian Herbertson (r.i.herbertson@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Learner / Imitator Theory and the Neanderthal Disappearance.
Supervised by: Dr Robert HosfieldDr Duncan Garrow

Jade Whitlam (j.t.whitlam@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Archaeobotany and the Neolithic of Western Iran.
Supervised by: Professor Roger MatthewsDr Nick BranchDr Wendy Matthews

Kathryn Turner (kathryn.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Re-evaluation of Mediterranean Holocene Chronologies.
Supervised by: Dr Stuart BlackDr Nick Branch

Kirsten Barr (k.barr@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Prehistoric avian, mammalian and H sapiens footpring-tracks from intertidal sediments as evidence of human palaeoecology.
Supervised by: Professor Martin Bell ,  F Sturt (Southampton University)

Lionello Morandi (l.f.f.morandi@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Non-pollen palynomorphs as an aid to the identification of ancient farming activities: an experimental and archaeological approach.
Supervised by: Dr Nick BranchProfessor Martin Bell

Margaret Andrews
The Paleopathology of the Romano-British to Early Medieval Transition in Southern Britain.
Supervised by: Dr Mary LewisDr Gabor Thomas

Marialucia Amadio (m.amadio@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Architecture and urbanisation in Cyprus: local and regional innovation in materials, technology and social representation.
Supervised by: Dr Wendy MatthewsProfessor Roger Matthews

Michael Simmonds (m.simmonds@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Examining the relationships between climate change, vegetation succession and human activity during the Late Devensian and Early Holocene in SE England.
Supervised by: Dr Nick BranchDr Stuart BlackDr Robert Hosfield

Petra Verlinden (p.verlinden@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Adolescence, Migration and Health in Medieval England.
Supervised by: Dr Mary Lewis ,  Dr Fiona Shapland

Philip Stastney (p.stastney@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Examining the relationship between Holocene climate change, hydrology and human society in Ireland.
Supervised by: Dr Nick BranchDr Stuart Black

Sandy Briden (nee Davies)
Development of methods of hair analysis using NMR spectroscopy.
(Completed: 03/07/2014 )
Supervised by: Dr M Almond (Chemistry) ,  Dr Stuart Black

Sarah Elliott (sarah.elliott@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Micromorphological investigation of early animal management in the Zagros, Iran.
Supervised by: Dr Wendy MatthewsProfessor Roger MatthewsDr Stuart Black

Sarah Jones (s.l.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
The impact of climate variability on Bronze Age and Iron Age societies in the Middle East
Supervised by: Professor Dominik FleitmannDr Stuart Black

Stella Kyrillidou (s.kyrillidou@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Combined elemental analysis on Neolithic and Bronze Age settlements in northern Greece.
Supervised by: Dr Wendy MatthewsDr Stuart Black ,  Prof K Kotsakis (Thessaloniki)

Tom Walker (t.walker@pgr.reading.ac.uk)
Shifting Sand: The Palaeoenvironment and Archaeology of Blown Sand in Cornwall.
Supervised by: Professor Martin BellDr Stuart Black

Victoria Taylor
Land Snail Middens in the Late Pleistocence and Early Holocene in North Africa: a Case Study from Taforalt (Grotte des Pegeons), Morocco.
Supervised by: Professor Martin BellDr Stuart Black

Things to do now

Follow us

Contact us

Discuss your research degree

Page navigation

 

Search Form

A-Z lists