Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our staff

    Learn with our internationally recognised experts

Meet the team

Department of Archaeology staff

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Professor Grenville Astill

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7363

g.g.astill@reading.ac.uk

Professor Martin Bell

Professor in Archaeological Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7724

m.g.bell@reading.ac.uk

Dr Stuart Black

Associate Professor in Environmental Radioactivity

+ 44 (0)118 378 8946

s.black@reading.ac.uk

Dr Nick Branch

Head of School/Associate Professor in Palaeoecology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6102

n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk

Ms Amanda Clarke

Director of Archaeology Field School

+ 44 (0)118 378 6255

a.s.clarke@reading.ac.uk

Dr John Creighton

Head of the Department of Archaeology/Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7364

j.d.creighton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Hella Eckardt

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6266

h.eckardt@reading.ac.uk

Professor Dominik Fleitmann

Professor of Palaeoclimate and Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6564

d.fleitmann@reading.ac.uk

Professor Michael Fulford

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8048

m.g.fulford@reading.ac.uk

Dr Duncan Garrow

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+44 (0) 118 378 6458

d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roberta Gilchrist

Research Dean/Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6381

r.l.gilchrist@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Hosfield

Associate Professor in Palaeolithic Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7632

r.hosfield@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jim Leary

Director of Archaeology Field School

+ 44 (0)118 378 8131

j.c.leary@reading.ac.uk

Dr Mary Lewis

Associate Professor in Biological Anthropology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8927

m.e.lewis@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roger Matthews

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7564

r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Matthews

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6788

w.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Professor Steven Mithen

Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International and External Engagement)/Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6442

s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gundula Mueldner

Associate Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7389

g.h.mueldner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Aleks Pluskowski

Associate Professor in Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5267

a.g.pluskowski@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gabor Thomas

Associate Professor in Early Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5449

gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Research and enterprise staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Rowena Banerjea

QUEST

+ 44 (0)118 378 7877

r.y.banerjea@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Batchelor

QUEST Director

+44 (0) 118 378 8941

c.r.batchelor@reading.ac.uk

Dr Catherine Barnett

Senior Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 6227

c.m.barnett@reading.ac.uk

Mr Rory Williams-Burrell

Research Assistant

xn906040@reading.ac.uk

Mrs Jenni Eaton

Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 6762

j.e.eaton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Emma Durham

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 8293

emma.durham@reading.ac.uk

Dr Delphine Fremondeau

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 7981

d.j.m.fremondeau@reading.ac.uk

Dr Rob Fry

Geophysics and GIS Technician

+44 (0) 118 378 7972

r.j.fry@reading.ac.uk

Dr Catriona Gibson

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

c.d.gibson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ben Greet

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

Ms Elaine Jamieson

Research Assistant

e.d.jamieson@reading.ac.uk

Gemma Lafferty

QUEST Commercial Manager

g.e.lafferty@reading.ac.uk

Dr Lisa Lodwick

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7967

l.a.lodwick@reading.ac.uk

Dr Nathalie Marini

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 8945

n.a.marini@reading.ac.uk

Mr Simon Maslin

Data Manager

+ 44 (0)118 378 7967

s.p.maslin@reading.ac.uk

Mr Nick Pankhurst

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

n.a.pankhurst@reading.ac.uk

Dr Marta Portillo

Marie Curie Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 7981

m.portilloramirez@reading.ac.uk

Dr Alex Smith

Senior Research Fellow

+ 44 (0)118 378 7804

a.t.smith@reading.ac.uk

Dr Phil Stastney

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 6801

p.stastney@reading.ac.uk

Dr Jane Timby

Senior Research Fellow

j.timby@reading.ac.uk

Ms Krystyna Truscoe

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7804

k.m.truscoe@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gemma Watson

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 6197

g.l.watson@reading.ac.uk

Mr Dan Wheeler

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

d.r.wheeler@reading.ac.uk

Dr Karen Wicks

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant to Pro-Vice Chancellor (I&EE)

+ 44 (0)118 378 7973

k.wicks@reading.ac.uk

Kevin Williams

QUEST

+44 (0) 118 378 8945

kevin.williams@reading.ac.uk

Daniel Young

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 7978

d.s.young@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project

Judith Arnett

j.c.arnett@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Age estimation and secular change: Developing criteria to aid in the identification of the child victims of Colombia's internal armed conflict. 

Matthew Austin

matthew.austin@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Geopolitical Landscape of Early England, AD 400-800. 

Kirsten Barr

k.barr@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Prehistoric avian, mammalian and H sapiens footpring-tracks from intertidal sediments as evidence of human palaeoecology. 

Emily Blanchard

e.j.blanchard@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Through the looking glass: Roman Mirrors from the North-Western Provinces. 

Emily Carroll

e.l.carroll@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cremation practices in Iron Age and Roman Britain: Funerary responses to transitions of ritualism, culture and technology. 

Li-Chi Chiang

l.chiang@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Neolithic lithic technology in North Taiwan. 
Irene Christianus  i.christianus@pgr.reading.ac.uk  The Urban Ecology of Insects. 

Cecilia Collins

c.r.collins@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Interpreting prevalence rates of maxilliary sinusitis and ear disease in Medieval Iceland: an evaluation of the crania of adult and sub-adult skeletons using computed tomography, microscopy and endoscopy. 

Jessica Feito

j.n.feito@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Detecting Regional Variation in the Roman Diet. 

Matthew Fittock

m.g.fittock@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Pipeclay figurines in Roman Britain. 

John Ford

j.c.ford@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ringing the changes: the social significance of finger-rings in Roman Britain. 

Guido Guarducci

g.guarducci@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Lands of Nairi: social and material culture networking among the communities of Eastern Anatolia during the late Bronze and Iron Ages. 

Owen Humphreys

o.j.humphreys@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Tools in Roman London: industry, household practice and ritual deposition across the ancient city. 

Elaine Jamieson

e.d.jamieson@reading.ac.uk

Memory, Mobility and the Perception of Place: a view of elite landscapes in Medieval England. 

Sarah Jones

s.l.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The impact of climate variability on Bronze Age and Iron Age societies in the Middle East. 

Zoe Knapp

z.e.knapp@pgr.reading.ac.uk

A Zooarchaeological analysis of Anglo-Saxon Lyminge. 

Simon Maslin

s.p.maslin@reading.ac.uk

The Ecology of the Anglo-Saxon Conversion: a Multi-Proxy Geoarchaeological Investigation of the Anglo-Saxon Monastic Landscape of Lyminge, Kent. 
Candace McGovern  c.l.mcgovern@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Coming of Age as a Woman in Roman Britain: physical development and the life course from puberty through adulthood. 

Sophia Mills

s.h.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The elderly in Medieval England. 

Mitchell Miranda

m.c.miranda@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cattle in the Middle East. 

Sam Nicholson

s.l.nicholson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Going global: Palaeoclimate of Arabia and Human Evolution. 

Claire Nolan

Claire.nolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Therapeutic Landscapes of the Neolithic: Exploring the potential for Britain's Neolithic heritage to promote well-being amongst present-day visitors and communities. 

Monica Palmero Fernandez

m.palmerofernandez@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The role and significance of goddesses in Mesopotamia during the 3rd millennium B.C. (Early Dynastic. Akkadian. Ur III periods). 

Carolina Rangel de Lima

c.m.lima@pgr.reading.ac.uk

What can the lamps of Lusitania (modern Portugal and western Spain) tell us about the way in which people lived in Roman Iberia? 

Elspeth St John Brooks

e.s.john-brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Developing new approaches to human mobility and activity areas using geochemical patterns at British archaeological sites. 

Charlotte Scull

c.j.a.scull@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Foodways of religious women in Anglo-Saxon and Medieval England. 

Adam Sutton

a.d.sutton@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Late Iron Age pottery production and techniques in Southern Britain. 

Lise Tjellesen

l.w.tjellesen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Decoding forgotten acoustic knowledge of Ancient Civilizations: sacred structures, symbolism and sound - the effect on mind and body. 

Sascha Valme

s.j.valme@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Age of Puberty in Post-Medieval England. 

Katy Whitaker

k.a.whitaker@pgr.reading.ac.uk

What is the impact of the historical exploitation of sarsen stone on the understanding and interpretation of the prehistoric archaeology of southern England? 

Sara Wilson

s.l.wilson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Roman ceramic building material. 

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor John Allen

Emeritus Professor

j.r.l.allen@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robin Bendrey

Visiting Research Fellow

robin.bendrey@ed.ac.uk

Professor Richard Bradley

Emeritus Professor

r.j.bradley@reading.ac.uk

Dr Alex Brown

Visiting Research Fellow

a.d.brown@reading.ac.uk

Dr Matt Canti

Visiting Research Fellow

m.g.canti@reading.ac.uk

Professor Bob Chapman

Emeritus Professor

r.w.chapman@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Cook

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Petra Dark

Visiting Research Fellow

s.p.dark@reading.ac.uk

Professor Bill Finlayson

Visiting Professor

Dr Jennifer Foster

Visiting Research Fellow

j.a.a.foster@reading.ac.uk

Dr Chris Green

Visiting Research Fellow/QUEST

Dr Kevin Hayward

Visiting Research Fellow

K.Hayward@reading.ac.uk

Dr Heinrich Härke

Visiting Research Fellow

h.g.h.harke@reading.ac.uk

Mr Neil Holbrook

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Louise Loe

Visiting Research Fellow

Professor Clive McCann

Emeritus Professor

Dr David Mudd

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Anne Pirie

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Warwick Rodwell

Visiting Professor

wjr@warwickrodwell.com

Dr Barney Sloane

Visiting Research Fellow

barney.sloane@english-heritage.org.uk

Dr Tom Walker

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Phillipa Walton

Visiting Research Fellow

Philippa.Walton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Peter Warry

Visiting Research Fellow

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top