Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our staff

    Learn with our internationally recognised experts

Meet the team

Department of Archaeology staff

Academic staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Professor Martin Bell

Professor in Archaeological Science

+ 44 (0)118 378 7724

m.g.bell@reading.ac.uk

Professor Nicholas Branch

Head of School/Professor in Palaeoecology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6102

n.p.branch@reading.ac.uk

Ms Amanda Clarke

Director of Archaeology Field School

+ 44 (0)118 378 6255

a.s.clarke@reading.ac.uk

Dr John Creighton

Head of the Department of Archaeology/Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7364

j.d.creighton@reading.ac.uk

Professor Hella Eckardt 

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6266

h.eckardt@reading.ac.uk

Professor Dominik Fleitmann

Professor of Palaeoclimate and Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6564

d.fleitmann@reading.ac.uk

Professor Michael Fulford

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8048

m.g.fulford@reading.ac.uk

Dr Duncan Garrow

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+44 (0) 118 378 6458

d.j.garrow@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roberta Gilchrist

Research Dean/Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6381

r.l.gilchrist@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Hosfield

Associate Professor in Palaeolithic Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7632

r.hosfield@reading.ac.uk

Dr Mary Lewis

Associate Professor in Biological Anthropology

+ 44 (0)118 378 8927

m.e.lewis@reading.ac.uk

Professor Roger Matthews

Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7564

r.j.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Dr Wendy Matthews

Associate Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6788

w.matthews@reading.ac.uk

Professor Steven Mithen

Professor in Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 6442

s.j.mithen@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gundula Mueldner

Associate Professor in Bioarchaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 7389

g.h.mueldner@reading.ac.uk

Dr Aleks Pluskowski

Associate Professor in Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5267

a.g.pluskowski@reading.ac.uk

Dr Gabor Thomas

Associate Professor in Early Medieval Archaeology

+ 44 (0)118 378 5449

gabor.thomas@reading.ac.uk

Research and enterprise staff

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Rowena Banerjea

QUEST

+ 44 (0)118 378 7877

r.y.banerjea@reading.ac.uk

Dr Robert Batchelor

QUEST Director

+44 (0) 118 378 8941

c.r.batchelor@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sasa Caval

Marie Curie Researcher

+44 (0)118 378 6197

 

Dr Karen Dempsey Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow  + 44 (0)118 378 6197 k.dempsey@reading.ac.uk

Dr Emma Durham

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 8293

emma.durham@reading.ac.uk

Mrs Jenni Eaton

Research Assistant

+44 (0)118 378 6762

j.e.eaton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Rob Fry

Geophysics and GIS Technician

+44 (0) 118 378 7972

r.j.fry@reading.ac.uk

Dr Catriona Gibson

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

+44 (0) 118 378 7877

c.d.gibson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Ben Greet

Post-Doctoral Research Assistant

b.j.r.greet@reading.ac.uk

Ms Elaine Jamieson

Research Assistant

e.d.jamieson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sara Machin Post-Doctoral Research Assistant    

Dr Nathalie Marini

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 8945

n.a.marini@reading.ac.uk

Dr Darko Maricevic Islay Heritage Director of Archaeology   nj813990@reading.ac.uk

Mr Nick Pankhurst

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

n.a.pankhurst@reading.ac.uk

Dr Amy Richardson Senior Research Fellow +44 (0)118 378 8747 a.l.richardson@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Walsh

Research Assistant in Human Osteoarchaeology

s.l.walsh@reading.ac.uk

Dr Philippa Walton Post-Doctoral Research Assistant on Piercebridge project   p.j.walton@reading.ac.uk 

Mr Dan Wheeler

Research Assistant

+ 44 (0)118 378 7316

d.r.wheeler@reading.ac.uk

Kevin Williams

QUEST

+44 (0) 118 378 8945

kevin.williams@reading.ac.uk

Daniel Young

QUEST Project Manager

+44 (0)118 378 7978

d.s.young@reading.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research Students

Name

Email

 Project

Judith Arnett

j.c.arnett@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Age estimation and secular change: Developing criteria to aid in the identification of the child victims of Colombia's internal armed conflict. 

Jennifer Austen

j.austen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cribra orbitalia, Cribra Humeralis and Cribra Femoralis: understanding their aetiology.
Lisa Backhouse l.backhouse@pgr.reading.ac.uk Changing Social Relations and the Making of an Early Medieval Kingdom: People and Pottery in Anglo-Saxon Kent AD 450-850.

Lindsay Banfield

l.banfield@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Making flour the German way: imported lava quern stones in Roman Britain.

Alborz Bathaie Bozchelouei

s.a.bathaeibozchelouei@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Sustainable construction: Enhancing strength, durability and sustainability of earth construction through interdisciplinary analysis of historic buildings and biomimicry.
Matthew Bosomworth m.bosomworth@pgr.reading.ac.uk Early to Mid Holocene climate and its impact on the development of the Neolithic in Iraq and Iran.
Florencia Botta f.n.botta@pgr.reading.ac.uk Reconstruction of child caring environment and infant diet in Medieval Cemeteries: Evaluation of the impact of famine and plague in adult health.
Lydia Bowler l.a.bowler@pgr.reading.ac.uk A critical evaluation of the influence of environmental and geological factors on the Late Bronze Age collapse in the Eastern Mediterranean.

Emily Carroll

e.l.carroll@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cremation practices in Iron Age and Roman Britain: Funerary responses to transitions of ritualism, culture and technology. 

Li-Chi Chiang

l.chiang@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Neolithic lithic technology in North Taiwan. 
Cecilia Collins cecilia.collins@gmail.com The Palaeopathology of Maxillary Sinusitis, Otitis Media and Mastoiditis in Medieval Iceland.
Donna De Groene d.a.j.degroene@pgr.reading.ac.uk Animal ecology in eastern Fertile crescent.
Aurore Diliberto a.diliberto@pgr.reading.ac.uk Les paysages ruraux du nord de l'empire romain
Sarah Downum s.downum@pgr.reading.ac.uk European Iron Age Design Patterns: regional differences and visual communication from early Iron Age to Roman Occupation.
Kate Dudgeon k.dudgeon@pgr.reading.ac.uk Archival approaches to environment and lifeways: origins of sedentary agriculture in the Epipalaeolithic-Neolithic, Abu Hureyra, Syria, 11,000-7100 BC.

Jessica Feito

j.n.feito@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Detecting Regional Variation in the Roman Diet. 
Paul Flintoft p.e.flintoft@pgr.reading.ac.uk Archaeological Palaeoenvironmental Archives: challenges and potential

John Ford

j.c.ford@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Ringing the changes: the social significance of finger-rings in Roman Britain. 

Lee Grana Nicolaou

l.a.grananicolaou@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The Importance of Estuarine Resources for the Roman Fishing Industry. 
Alessandro Guaggenti a.guaggenti@pgr.reading.ac.uk Micro-analysis of early agricultural built environments.
Matthew Jacobson m.j.jacobson2@pgr.reading.ac.uk Climate change and socio-economic transformations in the Late Antiquity of the Middle East.

Elaine Jamieson

e.d.jamieson@reading.ac.uk

Memory, Mobility and the Perception of Place: a view of elite landscapes in Medieval England. 

Sarah Jones

s.l.jones@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The impact of climate variability on Bronze Age and Iron Age societies in the Middle East. 
Candace McGovern  c.l.mcgovern@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Coming of Age as a Woman in Roman Britain: physical development and the life course from puberty through adulthood. 
Scott Midgley s.d.midgley@pgr.reading.ac.uk Trace-element incorporation into stalagmite calcite as a paleo-volcanic record: a chemical perspective.

Sophia Mills

s.h.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The elderly in Medieval England. 
Tom Mills t.k.mills@pgr.reading.ac.uk Leprosy and the Instanbul Criteria.

Mitchell Miranda

m.c.miranda@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Cattle in the Middle East. 
Andrea Mobbs a.m.mobbs@pgr.reading.ac.uk Transitions to adulthood in Anglo Saxon England, 5th - 10th century AD: an osteological and stable isotopic investigation into the timing of puberty and the impact of dietary stress.

Sam Nicholson

s.l.nicholson@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Going global: Palaeoclimate of Arabia and Human Evolution. 

Claire Nolan

Claire.nolan@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Therapeutic Landscapes of the Neolithic: Exploring the potential for Britain's Neolithic heritage to promote well-being amongst present-day visitors and communities. 

Monica Palmero Fernandez

m.palmerofernandez@pgr.reading.ac.uk

The role and significance of goddesses in Mesopotamia during the 3rd millennium B.C. (Early Dynastic. Akkadian. Ur III periods). 
Maria Rabbani maria.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Investigating human-environmental inter-relationships and resilience in the Zagros region during the Neolithic period - a multi-proxy approach.
Mubariz Rabbani mubariz.rabbani@pgr.reading.ac.uk Ancient Beads: Investigating Trade, Technology, Adornment and Identity at Barikot (~4th Century - ~3rd Century AD).

Carolina Rangel de Lima

c.m.lima@pgr.reading.ac.uk

What can the lamps of Lusitania (modern Portugal and western Spain) tell us about the way in which people lived in Roman Iberia? 
Arica Roberts arica.roberts@pgr.reading.ac.uk Welsh Women: an essential enigma of the Early Middle Ages.
Victoria Robinson v.a.robinson@pgr.reading.ac.uk Using in-situ portable detection systems for the imporvement in identification and mapping of buried bone deposits.
Rebecca Scott rebecca.scott@pgr.reading.ac.uk Fire and Shelter in the Lower Palaeolithic: Absence of evidence or evidence of absence?

Charlotte Scull

c.j.a.scull@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Foodways of religious women in Anglo-Saxon and Medieval England. 

Elspeth St John Brooks

e.s.john-brooks@pgr.reading.ac.uk Developing new approaches to human mobility and activity areas using geochemical patterns at British archaeological sites. 

Lise Tjellesen

l.w.tjellesen@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Decoding forgotten acoustic knowledge of Ancient Civilizations: sacred structures, symbolism and sound - the effect on mind and body. 
Krystyna Truscoe krystyna.truscoe@pgr.reading.ac.uk Can Airborne Remote Sensing Data Contribute to a Re-Evaluation of Territorial Oppida in Southern Britain?
Adam Turner a.n.turner@pgr.reading.ac.uk  Mesolithic Artefacts and Use Wear in Wetlands.

Sascha Valme

s.j.valme@pgr.reading.ac.uk

Age of Puberty in Post-Medieval England. 

Katy Whitaker

k.a.whitaker@pgr.reading.ac.uk

What is the impact of the historical exploitation of sarsen stone on the understanding and interpretation of the prehistoric archaeology of southern England? 

Beatrice Widell

b.widell@pgr.reading.ac.uk

A Crimson Horizon - The Religious Landscapes of Warfare in Northern Britain, c.1050-1500.

Emeritus, Honorary and Visiting Staff

Name

Position

Email

Professor John Allen

Emeritus Professor

j.r.l.allen@reading.ac.uk

Professor Grenville Astill Emeritus Professor g.g.astill@reading.ac.uk

Professor Richard Bradley

Emeritus Professor

r.j.bradley@reading.ac.uk

Professor Bob Chapman

Emeritus Professor

r.w.chapman@reading.ac.uk

Professor Clive McCann Emeritus Professor  

Professor Bill Finlayson 

Visiting Professor director@cbrl.org.uk
Dr Catherine Barnett Senior Visiting Research Fellow  
Dr Alex Smith Senior Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Alex Brown

Visiting Research Fellow

alex.brown@reading.ac.uk

Dr Matt Canti

Visiting Research Fellow

m.g.canti@reading.ac.uk

Dr Sam Cook

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Petra Dark

Visiting Research Fellow

s.p.dark@reading.ac.uk

Dr Pascal Flohr Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Jennifer Foster

Visiting Research Fellow

j.a.a.foster@reading.ac.uk

Dr Delphine Fremondeau Visiting Research Fellow   
Dr Aroa Garcia-Suarez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Chris Green

Visiting Research Fellow/QUEST

Dr Heinrich Härke

Visiting Research Fellow

h.g.h.harke@reading.ac.uk

Dr Kevin Hayward Visiting Research Fellow K.Hayward@reading.ac.uk

Mr Neil Holbrook

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Lisa Lodwick Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Louise Loe

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr David Mudd

Visiting Research Fellow

david.mudd@reading.ac.uk

Dr Anne Pirie

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Marta Portillo Ramirez Visiting Research Fellow  

Dr Barney Sloane

Visiting Research Fellow

barney.sloane@english-heritage.org.uk

Dr Tom Walker

Visiting Research Fellow

Dr Phillipa Walton

Visiting Research Fellow

Philippa.Walton@reading.ac.uk

Dr Peter Warry

Visiting Research Fellow

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top