Skip to main content

History of the School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Our history

History of the School of Psychology and Clinical Language Sciences

The history of the school can be traced back to 1921 with the appointment of a single lecturer in Experimental Psychology. As one of the first psychology departments in the UK, we have enjoyed a long and distinguished history. Now over eighty years later the School is firmly established as a world leader in teaching, research and training.

Notable psychologists who have been members of the School include:


Albert Wolters (1883 - 1961)

The first Head of Psychology at the University of Reading, and President of the British Psychological Society 1938-41.

 Magdalen Vernon (1901 - 1991)

Professor of Psychology, former Head of Department and President of the British Psychological Society.


Corinne Hutt (1934 - 1979)

Best known for early studies of biological basis for autism.


Beate Hermelin (1919 - 2007)

Professor of Developmental Psychology, Institute of Psychiatry - PhD supervisor for Uta Frith, Peter Hobson, Pam Heaton and others.


R.C. Oldfield

Emeritus Professor, University of Edinburgh. Best known for his design of the Handedness Inventory.

    Hadyn Ellis (1945 - 2006)

Professor and Deputy Vice Chancellor, Cardiff University.


John C. Marshall (1939 - 2007)

Cognitive neuropsychologist, Professor, Radcliffe Infirmary Oxford.


David Crystal

Honorary Professor, Bangor University.


Max Coltheart

Emeritus Professor, Macquarie


Brian Moore

Professor of Hearing sciences, University of Cambridge


John Morton

Professor of Child Development, UCL


Michel Treisman

Emeritus Reader, Oxford. Former Head of Department.


Tony Marcel

Professor, University of Hertfordshire - known for his work on unconscious perception.


Susan Spence

Professor, Griffiths University Australia


Ruth Campbell

Emeritus Professor, University College London


Bernard P. Moulden

Vision scientist and formerly Vice-Chancellor, James Cook University, Queensland.


Elaine Funnell

Emeritus Professor of Neuropsychology, Royal Holloway University of London.


Alan Allport

Emeritus Professor of Experimental Psychology, University of Oxford.


Barbara Wilson

Cognitive neurologist, Founder of the Oliver Zangwill Centre.


Paul Salkovskis

Professor of Clinical Psychology, Bath University.


Lucy A. Henry

Professor of Developmental Psychology, City University London.


Charles N. Lewis

Professor of Developmental Psychology, University of Lancaster.


We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top