Skip to main content

Dr Ciara McCabe – University of Reading

Show access keys

Dr Ciara McCabe

Dr Ciara McCabe
Job Title:
Associate Professor
Ciara McCabe Profile



Associate Professor of Neuroscience and Psychopharmacologist.

Director of Neuroimaging of Reward Group (NRG).

Director of Reading Scholars Programme in Psychology, University of Reading.

Co-Ordinator of MSc Projects and Placements in Psychology.

Council Member for British Association of Psychopharmacology (BAP).

Associate Editor: Frontiers in Psychiatry, Mood and Anxiety Disorders Section.

Trustee: Immigrant Counselling and Psychotherapy (ICAP).

Areas of Interest

Dr McCabe examines reward processing at the behavioural and neural level, using motivational tasks and computational modelling. Dr McCabe examines how reward relates to the symptom of anhedonia in adults and adolescents with depression and how drug treatments interact with the reward response.

Dr McCabe did her PhD on the effects of anxiolytic drugs on frustrative non-reward in animal models at the University of Ulster. She did her first post doc with Prof Nader in primate models of drug addiction at Wake Forest, NC, USA. She then moved to the Psychology Department at Oxford University to study human neuroimaging and reward function and subsequently to the Psychiatry Department at Oxford University to work on the neuroimaging of reward in patient groups.

Dr McCabe now runs the Neuroimaging of Reward Group (NRG) at the University of Reading.


BSc Honours Psychology, Queens University Belfast, 1998.

PhD Psychology, University of Ulster, 2003.

Fellow of Higher Education Authority (FHEA), 2015.

Research groups / Centres

Director: Neuroimaging of Reward Group (NRG)

Psychopathology and Affective Neuroscience;


Lecturer in Cognition, Learning and Neuroscience. MSc and BSc Project Supervisor.

PhD Students

Siyabend Kaya, Hanxin Zhang, Rebecca Watson. Past PhD students Anna-Lena Frey, Zola Dean, Alex Antonesei, Ewelina Rzepa, Felicity Cowdrey and Anna Nakamura visiting PhD from Tokyo University.


Medical Research Council and Industry funding.

International Recognition

2019: Invited by the Royal Society to give flash talk to the 3rd UK-Japan Frontiers of Science Symposium “Computational Brain Modelling and Brain-computer Interfaces”, Chiba, Japan.

2017: Invited to give ‘New Talent Talk’ from Lundbeck Foundation, The Brain Prize Meeting, “Rewarding Neuroscience” Copenhagen.

2015: Senior Non-Clinical Psychopharmacology Award: The British Association of Psychopharmacology, Bristol.

2015: In Vivo Award: British Association for Psychopharmacology, Bristol.

2014: In Vivo Award: British Association for Psychopharmacology, Cambridge.

2012: Rafaelsen Investigator Award: The International College of Neuropsychopharmacology, Stockholm.

2010: Fellowship Award: European College of Neuropsychopharmacology, Amsterdam.

2008: Eli Lilly (Industry) Fellowship Award: presented at the British Association for Psychopharmacology, Oxford.


Jump to: 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2005 | 2004
Number of items: 49.

















This list was generated on Thu Feb 27 03:02:53 2020 UTC.


We use Javascript to improve your experience on, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top