Address: The University of Reading, Whiteknights, PO Box 229, Reading, Berkshire RG6 6AG, England. Telephone: (0118) 9318660. Fax: 0118 9751264
The Rural History Centre was founded as the Museum of English Rural Life in 1951 and became the Institute of Agricultural History in 1968 to reflect its broadening interests and responsibilities. Its present name was adopted in January 1993 as part of the Centre's development plan.
The Rural History Centre is of unique national importance in that it is the only organisation in or outside a British University to specialise in this subject area. It combines university scholarship, outstanding research collections, with an expanding range of services to the agro-food industry, the rural sector and the public at large.
The Centre functions as:
It should be stressed that the subject field is world-wide, and that food and farming are set within the context of the overall rural economy and the history of rural society, landscape and environment from earliest times to the present.
To Rural History Centre main firstname.lastname@example.org