Skip to main content

Meet the team – University of Reading

Show access keys
  • Meet the team

    Get in touch to find out more about the International Study and Language Institute

Meet the team

General enquiries +44 118 378 8516
Pre-sessional admissions enquiries +44 118 378 5289
Pre-sessional/AEP course enquiries +44 118 378 6983
IWLP enquiries +44 118 378 7318
IFP admissions enquiries +44 118 378 8372
IFP course enquiries +44 118 378 6553
Short courses enquiries +44 118 378 5768
Self-Access Centre for Language Learning (SACLL) +44 118 378 5422
Fax +44 118 378 5427

 

School leadership team

 Name Position   Telephone  Email
Dr David Carter  Head of School, ISLI  +44 118 378 6473  d.m.carter@reading.ac.uk
Sarah Brewer Head of English for Academic Purposes  +44 118 378 4289  s.m.brewer@reading.ac.uk
Kam Johal Executive Support Administration Manager  +44 118 378 7710  k.k.johal@reading.ac.uk
Alison Nader Director of Teaching and Learning  +44 118 378 4799  a.m.nader@reading.ac.uk
Andy Seymour  Deputy Head, ISLI - Marketing, Recruitment and Admissions (Associate Professor)  +44 118 378 6760  a.e.seymour@reading.ac.uk
Steve Thomas  Head of International Partnerships  +44 118 378 7330  s.c.thomas@reading.ac.uk
Dr Elisabeth Wilding Associate Professor - oversees IFP, IWLP, AEP, PSE  +44 118 378 6560  e.a.wilding@reading.ac.uk

International Foundation Programme (IFP)

Name Position Telephone Email
Amanda Fava-Verde Programme Director +44 118 378 8243 a.c.fava-verde@reading.ac.uk
Dr Edward Anyaeji Module Tutor +44 118 378 8232 e.anyaeji@reading.ac.uk
Dr Maria Asensio  Module Tutor +44 118 378 8232 m.j.asensio@henley.reading.ac.uk
Dr Joanna Bagniewska  Module Tutor +44 118 378 7029 j.m.bagniewska@reading.ac.uk
Dr Dawn Clarke Module Tutor +44 118 378 5123 d.clarke@reading.ac.uk
Natalie Drake IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 7259 n.drake@reading.ac.uk
Dr Haitham Etman Module Tutor +44 118 378 6711 h.a.etman@reading.ac.uk
Jenny Eyley Module Tutor +44 118 378 6315 j.eyley@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Elizabeth Glaister Module Tutor +44 118 378 8996 e.m.glaister@reading.ac.uk
Dr Prue Griffiths Module Tutor +44 118 378 8169 p.r.e.griffiths@reading.ac.uk
Julia Kerr IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 7259  j.kerr@reading.ac.uk
Meiko Murayama Module Tutor +44 118 987 5123 m.murayama@henley.ac.uk
Lyn Newdick Module Tutor +44 118 378 5679 l.f.newdick@reading.ac.uk
Hania Orszulik IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 7259 h.orszulik@reading.ac.uk
Dr Mark Peace IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 7227 m.h.k.peace@reading.ac.uk
Robert Playfair IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 7259 r.g.f.playfair@reading.ac.uk
Rachel Rushton IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378  7259 r.rushton@reading.ac.uk
Dr Lindsey Thompson Module Tutor   lindsey.thompson@reading.ac.uk
Mrs Val Uglow Module Tutor +44 118 378 5017 v.l.uglow@reading.ac.uk
Jane Ward IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 5196 j.e.ward@pgr.reading.ac.uk
Dawn Willoughby IFP Course Tutor +44 118 378 5196 d.a.willoughby@reading.ac.uk

Academic English Programme (AEP)

Name Position Telephone Email
 Karin Whiteside AEP Programme Director +44 118 378 5392  k.whiteside@reading.ac.uk
Louise Bourguignon English Tutor +44 118 378 5197 l.a.bourguignon@reading.ac.uk
Barbara Loveridge Pronunciation Tutor +44 118 378 5197 b.loveridge@reading.ac.uk
Clare Pembroke English Tutor +44 118 378 5197 c.pembroke@reading.ac.uk
Emily Salvesen English Tutor +44 118 378 5197 e.r.salvesen@reading.ac.uk
Anne Vicary AEP Co-ordinator +44 118 378 8538 a.m.vicary@reading.ac.uk
Norma Williams AEP Co-ordinator +44 118 378 5434 n.williams@reading.ac.uk
Dawn Dinsdale Assistant Course Director +44 118 378 6828

d.v.dinsdale@reading.ac.uk 

Aaron Woodcock AEP Co-ordinator & Pre-sessional Course Director +44 118 378 6759  a.e.w.woodcock@reading.ac.uk
James Wylie English Tutor +44 118 378 5197  j.wylie@reading.ac.uk

Institution-Wide Language Programme (IWLP)

Name Position Telephone Email
Chiara Cirillo Director of IWLP +44 118 378 8885 c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk 

Arabic

Alison Nader Co-ordinator +44 118 378 4799 a.m.nader@reading.ac.uk
Younis Lahwej Tutor +44 118 378 7729 y.a.lahwej@reading.ac.uk

Chinese

Name Position Telephone Email
Cong Xia Li Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 6560 congxia.li@reading.ac.uk
Rebekah Xiao Zhao Tutor +44 118 378 7729 r.x.zhao@reading.ac.uk

English for Erasmus

Name Position Telephone Email
Alison Fenner Co-ordinator +44 118 378 6761 j.a.fenner@reading.ac.uk
Margaret Collins Tutor +44 118 378 5621 m.collins@reading.ac.uk
Wendy Smith Tutor +44 118 378 6827 w.l.smith2@reading.ac.uk

French

Name Position Telephone Email
Alison Nader Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 4799 a.m.nader@reading.ac.uk
Jenny Birk Tutor +44 118 378 7729 j.birk@reading.ac.uk
Marie-Chantal Brault Tutor  +44 118 378 7729 m.brault@reading.ac.uk
Alison Nicholson Tutor +44 118 378 5772 a.v.nicholson@reading.ac.uk

German

Name Position Telephone Email
Alison Fenner Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 6761 j.a.fenner@reading.ac.uk
Wendy Smith Tutor +44 118 378 6827 w.l.smith2@reading.ac.uk
Karin Herbst Tutor +44 118 378 7729 k.b.herbst@reading.ac.uk

Italian

Name Position Telephone Email
Chiara Cirillo Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 8885 c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk
Ugo Marsili Tutor +44 118 378 7729 u.marsili@reading.ac.uk
Daniela Standen Tutor +44 118 378 5163 d.standen@reading.ac.uk

Japanese

Name Position Telephone Email
Kazumi-Hiramatsu-Kidd Tutor +44 118 378 5434 k.hiramatsu-kidd@reading.ac.uk
Asako Partington Coordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 7729 a.partington@reading.ac.uk

Russian

Name Position Telephone Email
Chiara Cirillo  Co-ordinator  +44 118 378 8885 c.cirillo@reading.ac.uk
Nigora Nasirova Tutor +44 118 378 7729 n.nasirova@reading.ac.uk

Spanish

Name Position Telephone Email
Pilar Gray-Carlos Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 5623 m.p.gray-carlos@reading.ac.uk
Virginia Dimitroff Tutor +44 118 378 7729 v.g.dimitroff@reading.ac.uk
Mari Carmen Maybank Tutor +44 118 378 7729 m.c.maybank@reading.ac.uk
Amparo McEwen Tutor +44 118 378 7729 a.mcewen@reading.ac.uk

Portuguese

Name Position Telephone Email
Pilar Gray-Carlos Co-ordinator & Tutor +44 118 378 5623 m.p.gray-carlos@reading.ac.uk
Cristiana Rodrigues Sessional Lecturer   c.m.p.rodrigues@reading.ac.uk

Pre-sessional English (PSE)

Name Position Telephone Email
Sarah Brewer Pre-sessional Programme Director (summer) +44 118 378 4289 s.m.brewer@reading.ac.uk
Colin Campbell Associate Professor/School           Co-Ordinator of Teacher Development  +44 118 378 8510  colin.campbell@reading.ac.uk
Margaret Collins Course Tutor: Pre-sessional and IWLP +44 118 378 5621 m.collins@reading.ac.uk
Sarah Harford  Course Tutor  +44 118 378 5621  s.k.harford@reading.ac.uk
Gill Kendon  ISLI Deputy Director of Assessment & Pre-sessional Course Director  +44 118 378 6477  g.b.kendon@reading.ac.uk
Svetlana Mazhurnaya Teaching Fellow EAP +44 118 378 6828 s.mazhurnaya@reading.ac.uk
Joan McCormack Pre-sessional Programme Director (academic year) +44 118 378 8407 j.c.mccormack@reading.ac.uk
Deborah Murphy  Director of SACLL/Course Tutor Pre-sessional  +44 118 378 5621  d.a.murphy@reading.ac.uk
Jonathan Smith Director of TEL Projects +44 118 378 8339 j.p.smith@reading.ac.uk
Wendy Smith Course Tutor +44 118 378 6827 w.l.smith2@reading.ac.uk
John Slaght Director of Assessment/PSE Course Director +44 118 378 6470   j.slaght@reading.ac.uk
Claire Tolley Pre-sessional Lecturer  +44 118 378 4010  c.c.tolley@reading.ac.uk
Brian Turner Course Tutor +44 118 378 6828 b.j.turner@reading.ac.uk
Anna Ziomek Course Tutor (EAP & Assessment) +44 118 378 6828 a.k.ziomek@reading.ac.uk

short courses

Name Position Telephone Email
Daguo Li Director of China Partnerships +44 118 378 5769 d.li@reading.ac.uk
Sebastian Watkins Programme Director, International Professional Development at HE Level +44 118 378 6719   s.a.watkins@reading.ac.uk
Bruce Howell Currently seconded to University of Reading Malaysia +60 7 268 6229  d.b.howell@reading.edu.my
Sharon McIlroy Senior Tutor, China Partnerships +44 118 378 5646 s.e.r.mcilroy@reading.ac.uk
Carrie Zhang Teaching Fellow, China Partnerships +44 118 378 5781 c.x.zhang@reading.ac.uk

ERASMUS AND STUDY ABROAD OFFICE

Name Position Telephone Email
Marcus Dowse Erasmus and Study Abroad Manager +44 118 378 8322 m.a.dowse@reading.ac.uk
Chris Bonham Erasmus and Study Abroad Officer +44 118 378 7220 c.i.bonham@reading.ac.uk
Emily Davis-Williams Erasmus and Study Abroad Officer +44 118 378 8504 e.j.davis-williams@reading.ac.uk
Corinne Knott Erasmus and Study Abroad Administrator +44 118 378 8323 c.p.knott@reading.ac.uk

SACLL

Name Position Telephone Email
Deborah Murphy Director of SACLL +44 118 378 5621 d.a.murphy@reading.ac.uk
Jan Trebacz SACLL Administrator +44 118 378 5422 j.p.trebacz@reading.ac.uk

INTERNATIONAL PARTNERSHIPS

Name Position Telephone Email
Wajid Ali International Partnerships Manager +44 118 378 4908 w.ali@reading.ac.uk

Ashley Burke

International Partnerships Manager +44 118 378 4909 a.v.burke@reading.ac.uk
Martin McCarthy International Partnerships Manager +44 118 378 7607 martin.mccarthy@reading.ac.uk

Administrative & Support Staff

Name Position Telephone Email
Melissa Holland Programme Co-Ordinator +44 118 378 6985 m.holland@reading.ac.uk
Karen Miller Programmes Assistant +44 118 378 8516 karen.miller@reading.ac.uk
Christa Muller Programme Administrator +44 118 378 6553 c.s.muller@reading.ac.uk
Rachel Wood Programme Administrator +44 118 378 7318 r.m.wood@reading.ac.uk
Lauren Andrews Programme Administrator +44 118 378 6983 l.e.andrews@reading.ac.uk
Helen Ullock Short Courses Co-Ordinator +44 118 378 5768 h.ullock@reading.ac.uk
Louise Crompton Short Courses Administrator +44 118 378 8287 l.crompton@reading.ac.uk
Laura Coomber IELTS Manager +44 118 378 6223 l.coomber@reading.ac.uk
Kam Johal Executive Support Administration Manager   +44 118 378 7710 k.k.johal@reading.ac.uk
Rachel Swift Executive Support Administrator  +44 118 378 6469 r.swift@reading.ac.uk  
Tracy McAuley Executive Support Finance Administrator  +44 118 378 6750 t.mcauley@reading.ac.uk  
Emma Beschizza Executive Support Administrator  +44 118 378 8254 e.beschizza@reading.ac.uk  

We use Javascript to improve your experience on reading.ac.uk, but it looks like yours is turned off. Everything will still work, but it is even more beautiful with Javascript in action. Find out more about why and how to turn it back on here.
We also use cookies to improve your time on the site, for more information please see our cookie policy.

Back to top